Brit Jonathan Marry not only won the doubles title at Wimbledon on Saturday but also the hearts of fans with some classy sportsmanship in the final.
Marray combined with Danish Frederik Nielsen to win the doubles title at The Championships on Saturday.
With a 4-0 lead in the third set tie-break, Marray tied up Lindstedt with a backhand volley, but immediately raised his hand to call a foul upon himself for hitting the net on his follow through. The chair umpire had not seen it but Marray gave the point to his oppoents.
Players are not allowed to touch the net unless the ball has bounced twice.
In his press conference later Marray said, “Freddy had a great serve. I had a sitter on top of the net. As I hit the volley, I followed through and touched the top of the net. So basically it's their point.”