Tennis World USA
Tennis World

Laureus Awards - Murray, Kerber and Del Potro fail to win in their category

-  View: 6527
by Gatto Luigi

There wasn't any tennis player among the winners of the annual Laureus Awards. Usain Bolt was named the 'Sportsman of the Year' in the men's category. He "beat" the World No. 1 Andy Murray, who won Wimbledon and ATP Finals last year, Mo Farah, Stephen Curry, LeBron James and Cristiano Ronaldo.

The "Sportswoman of the Year" award went to the artistic gymnast Simone Biles. In this category the other World No. 1 Angelique Kerber, Australian Open and US Open winner and Wimbledon finalist, was among the nominees along with Allyson Felix, Katie Ledecky, Elaine Thompson and Laura Kenny.

Finally for the "comeback of the year" the swimmer Michael Phelps, awarded by Boris Becker, was choosen. The Olympics Silver medalist and Davis Cup winner Juan Martin Del Potro was named beyond Ruth Beitia, Fabienne St Louis, Nick Skelton and Aksel Lund Svindal.

For Kerber and Del Potro, it would have been the first Laureus Awards in career, while Murray already won one in 2013 in the 'Breakthough World' category in 2013. ALSO READ: In 2016 Rafael Nadal had fewer drug tests in competition than Federer, Djokovic and Murray .

Powered by: World(D) 1.6