Feliciano Lopez and Marc Lopez win French Open Men´s Doubles title

-  View: 2041
Feliciano Lopez and Marc Lopez win French Open Men´s Doubles title

Tennis- 15th seeded Spanish pair Marc Lopez and Feliciano Lopez have won their first Grand Slam title as they edged the most successful men's doubles pair Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan in 3 sets 6-4, 6-7 (6), 6-3 in the men's doubles French Open final.

Lopez/Lopez had saved six match points in their quarter-final win over 2014 champions Julien Benneteau and Edouard Roger-Vasselin. They also downed defending champions Ivan Dodig and Marcelo Melo in semifinal.

Their win against 2013 champions Bryan/Bryan in final meant that they defeated last three French Open champions in last three matches. Bryan Brothers were looking for their 17th Grand Slam title and 113th overall ATP title.

They already hold both records for winning most titles. On the other hand Lopez/Lopez had first paired 12 years back in 2004 when they reached final in Valencia. After that they paired together at the start of this year and won the Qatar Open. They reached final in Dubai and were looking for their first Grand Slam title in Paris.

Marc was playing his third Grand Slam final and he had lost first two at 2014 French Open and 2014 US Open. Feliciano was in first ever final. Spaniards got a break in the first game of the match and held all of their service games to take the first set 6-4. In the second set both pairs saved all the break points they faced so set had to be decided by a tie-break.

Bryans saved a match point at 5-6 and won three points in a row to take the second set 8-6 in tie-break. In the third set Lopez/Lopez broke Bryans in the sixth game but Bryans broke back in the next game. Lopez/Lopez got another break in the eighth game and served out the match to clinch the title.

They are the first Spanish pair in last 26 years to win a Grand Slam. Emilio Sanchez and Sergio Casal were the last Spanish team to win French Open in 1990. Also Read: FRENCH OPEN WOMEN´S SINGLES- Serena Williams to meet Garbine Muguruza in the final .