Interviewed by Marca, Carlos Bernardes explained why Rafael Nadal was handed a time violation warning by him Just before starting his third round match against Damir Dzunhur. The world No. 1 had given the towel to the ball-kid and was about to serve the first ball of the match.
It's all about the 1-5-1 rule. 'These three numbers are there because the 1 is the minute that players have to leave the bags. The 5 are the warm-up minutes. And the other 1 are the 60 seconds that players have between the end of warm-up and the beginning of the match.
It's all calculated by an on-court clock, it's not a personal criteria.' Nadal received the warning because he took more than one minute, but it wasn't a warning during the match and so he shouldn't have hit the second serve in case of a second warning.
It's up to the tournament's supervisor to whether apply a fine. ALSO READ: Roger Federer says he hopes his kids won't play in professional tennis .