Tennis World USA
Tennis World
Maria Sharapova and Andy Murray Join Star Field for the International Premier Tennis League!

Maria Sharapova and Andy Murray Join Star Field for the International Premier Tennis League!

-  View: 13964
by Ivan Pasquariello

Initially she was reluctant, maybe not very convinced with the whole project. She was following in the footsteps of Roger Federer, whose No had to be eventually taken for an answer by Mahesh Bhupathi.

Now, Maria Sharapova is ready to jump on board. It became official today that the Russian will join the International Premier Tennis League in November, playing for the home team of the Manila Mavericks. Joining Maria in the adventure and selected for the same team was also 2013 Wimbledon champion Andy Murray, who will star with the Russian in a team that includes Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, Daniel Nestor and Carlos Moya among the others.

The list of tennis stars ready to compete in November at the Smart Araneta Coliseum is impressive and counts almost all the current major stars of the game including: Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal, Serena Williams, Tomas Berdych, John Isner, Victoria Azarenka, Nick Kyrgios.

All competing together with former tennis champions such as Carlos Moya,Pete Sampras and Fabrice Santoro. Mahesh Bhupathi is the head and creator of the whole event, which will feature 4 teams all competing against one another.

There will be 2 matches per day, with the winner that will be announced on the 30th of November. The whole event seems to be a dream occasion for the Asian tennis fans to get closer to all the champions and enjoy an unusual set and a great innovation in the way tennis is going to be played.

Each team - as said - will have to play against all the other teams. The matches will be 5-set encounters. These will be the 5 different disciplines, all facing each other in a one-set match: - men's singles - women's singles - men's doubles - mixed doubles - legends doubles In the end, the team with the most wins, including sets, games and matches will win and will be awarded with a total of $1 million.

At the moment these are the 4 teams: Manila Mavericks

Country - Player

United Kingdom - Andy Murray
France - Jo-Wilfried Tsonga
Spain - Carlos Moyá
Canada - Daniel Nestor
Philippines - Huey
Russia - Maria Sharapova
Belgium - Kirsten Flipkens U.A.E.

Falcons Country - Player

Serbia - Novak Djokovic
France - Richard Gasquet
Serbia - Nenad Zimonjić
Serbia - Janko Tipsarević
Croatia - Goran Ivanišević
Tunisia - Malek Jaziri
Denmark - Caroline Wozniacki
Switzerland - Martina Hingis Indian Aces

Country - Player

Spain - Rafael Nadal
France - Gaël Monfils
United States - Pete Sampras
India - Rohan Bopanna
France - Fabrice Santoro
India - Sania Mirza
Serbia - Ana Ivanovic
Singapore Lions Country - Player United States - Andre Agassi
Australia - Lleyton Hewitt
Australia - Nick Kyrgios
Australia - Patrick Rafter
Czech Republic - Tomáš Berdych
Brazil - Bruno Soares
United States - Serena Williams
Slovakia - Daniela Hantuchová .

RANK #22
Powered by: World(D) 1.6