Seonghyeon Kim, a crazy one-stroke penalty



by   |  VIEW 1285

Seonghyeon Kim, a crazy one-stroke penalty

How far apart are crazy joy and cosmic anger when it comes to golf? According to the current rules, this distance is obtained by adding the reasonable time to reach the hole and ten seconds. Testimonial of this status is Seonghyeon Kim, a young professional invited last week for the second time to play on the PGA Tour.

If the first time he never forgets (playing side by side with the best world pros) the second is destined to go down in the personal history of the 22-year-old South Korean. In Las Vegas, on the last hole of the fourth round of The CJ Cup (won by McIlroy), Kim was enveloped in the never sought-after cloak of bad luck.

His less than three-foot birdie putt has become a school case. The ball has seen fit to take a nice 360 ​​degree turn on the edge of the hole and then stop slightly outside. A matter of millimeters and the force of gravity, a situation that - we know - happens more often than one might think.

With his mind Seonghyeon Kim will have immediately sent who he knows to that country. With his body he raised the putter, went half a turn around the hole, meditated and then - resigned to par - went back to the ball to hit it again.

Suddenly, however, the ball rolled into the hole by itself. In the general jubilation of the public present at the PGA Tour race, the South Korean picked up the ball from 18 and marked the birdie on his score. A result of great prestige, a 25th place worth 70 thousand dollars if… there was not a small unscheduled called penalty.

Seonghyeon Kim, the rule

With his behavior, Seonghyeon Kim has in fact violated rule 13.3a concerning the ball hovering on the edge of the hole. The standard says that if any part of a player's ball is hovering over the edge of the hole: the player is allowed a reasonable time to reach the hole and an extra ten seconds to wait and see if the ball will fall into the hole; if the ball falls into the hole within this waiting time, the player pocketed with the previous shot; if the ball does not fall into the pocket within this waiting time: the ball is considered stationary; if the ball subsequently falls into the hole before it is played, the player pocketed with the previous stroke, but will receive a penalty stroke to be added to the score for the hole.

The video posted on Twitter by the American circuit is eloquent. Just watch the seconds go by to understand that the rule has been disregarded. The ball stops on the edge at the minute 00.05. Kim is stunned, then takes a lap and then gets ready for the fifth shot at 00.28.

The ball moves at minute 00.29. Given the short distance of the putt in question (less than one meter, not two hundred), the reasonable time to reach the hole provided for in rule 13.3a corresponds to a few seconds to which to add the ten waiting times.

Kim's twenty-three employees are too many Moral of the story: Seonghyeon Kim was given a penalty shot but was spared the disqualification for delivering a wrong score (as explained by the PGA Tour referring to an exception to rule 3.3), Small detail: that penalty cost the beauty of 19 thousand dollars, that is the difference between the prize for the potential 22nd final position and that for the real 35th place conquered.