Charles Schwab Challenge, a unique event

by   |  VIEW 5113

Charles Schwab Challenge, a unique event

Created in 1946, the Charles Schwab Challenge is a unique tournament in more ways than one. Taking place on the course of the Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, in the lair of Ben Hogan in Texas, it is above all one of the five PGA Tour invitational tournaments.

But not only…

Charles Schwab Challenge, history

Winner in 2021 of the Charles Schwab Challenge, the American Jason Kokrak received a substantial check for $ 1,350,000. Enough to buy thousands of jackets, other than the one with a devastating look, in Scottish tartan, promised to the winner...

His feat, beating the favorite Jordan Spieth by 2 strokes (who will be favorite again this year), allows him to enter the very privileged circle of former winners displayed on the huge window erected in their honor. This wall called "Wall of Champions" will soon know an extension as the list is long since its history includes 76 years of exploits...

On this one appears the local hero and for many of a whole country, the legendary Ben Hogan, winner here on 5 occasions, ahead, by far, of other prestigious names such as Lee Trevino, Ben Crenshaw or Phil Mickelson, twice titled.

The Charles Schwab is his tournament, and one wonders why it never took the name of "Ben Hogan Invitational".. Formerly called the Colonial National Invitational, it bears its name well since it is one of the 5 PGA tournaments to select the field of invitational players.

But the “Champion’s Choice” makes it absolutely unique. Indeed, all the former winners of the tournament designate each year 2 players who do not meet the admission criteria. They are often amateurs or young professionals with a bright future ahead of them.

Let's dare to mention it right away, these former champions are not rounds in the matter: nearly 75% of the guests have subsequently managed to win a PGA tournament. Better still: all of them have won no less than 29 Majors!

The list is long, but let's mention pell-mell among the amateurs who made their debut: Paul Azinger, Billy Mayfair, Mark O'Meara, Curtis Strange, Stewart Cink... Others were professionals, but they had not yet shone, with the notable exception of Jordan Spieth who received the invitation in 2014 before winning his first Majors the following year.

The most resounding feat was undoubtedly the victory of Dave Stockton in 1967, who remains to this day the only one to have won the year of his invitation. Three years later, in 1970, he would win his first PGA Championship…