Tiger Woods will not participate in Us Open


Tiger Woods will not participate in Us Open

No Us Open for Tiger Woods. The American champion has announced via twitter that he has informed the United States golf association (Usga) that he will not participate in the 122nd edition of the tournament, starting on June 16 at 'The Country Club' in Brookline, Massachusetts.

Tiger Woods, statements

"My body needs more time to strengthen for a major," writes Woods. "I hope and plan to be ready to play next month in Ireland at JPProAm and then The Open. Can't wait to go back". Woods, three-time US Open champion, retired on May 21 before the last lap of the PGA Championship in Southern Hills (Oklahoma) due to pain in his right leg, the one most affected in the serious car accident of February 2021 He will now have a month to get back in shape, with the main goal being to be ready for the British Open in St.

Andrews, Scotland, which begins on July 10th. The United States Open Championship, better known as the U.S. Open, is an annual US golf tournament. Along with the Open Championship, Augusta Masters and PGA Championship it is one of four majors.

It is included in both the PGA Tour and the European Tour program and is organized by the United States Golf Association (USGA) in mid-June. Typically, the final round is played on the third Sunday of the month, on the occasion of Father's Day.

The first U.S. tournament Open was played on October 4, 1895 on the nine-hole course at the Newport Country Club in Newport, Rhode Island. The competition consisted of a total course of 36 holes (four laps of the course) and was played in a single day.

Ten professionals and one amateur challenged each other; one of the pros, the 21-year-old Englishman Horace Rawlins, who arrived in the United States in January of the same year, won. He received a prize of $ 150 and a gold medal worth $ 50; he also received the U.S.

trophy. Open which he was able to keep for a year. In 1898 the first edition was played on 72 holes and the duration was extended to two days. The first U.S. Open were won by experienced British golfers, including Scotsman Willie Anderson, who achieved three consecutive wins between 1903 and 1905; in 1911 John McDermott became the first American to win the tournament, and US players have been regulars of the championship ever since.

Two years later the qualifying phase was introduced: the 32 players with the lowest score after the two rounds on Tuesday and Wednesday advanced to the actual tournament, played over the next two days. The current format of 18 holes per day for four days was introduced in 1965.

From 1926 to 1964 the title was won only by players from the United States, while to date only 6 other nations have won the trophy, including South Africa, five-time champion since 1965. For the first time since 1910, four non-Americans consecutively earned the privileged step of the podium in the period 2004-2007: the South African Retief Goosen (2004), the New Zealander Michael Campbell (2005), the Australian Geoff Ogilvy (2006) and the Argentine Ángel Cabrera (2007) ).

The first European to regain the title after Britain's Tony Jacklin (1970) was Northern Irishman Graeme McDowell in 2010.

Tiger Woods Us Open