Challenge Tour from Ireland move to Finland

by   |  VIEW 1657

Challenge Tour from Ireland move to Finland
Challenge Tour from Ireland move to Finland

The Challenge Tour remains in Northern Europe. From Ireland move to Finland for the Vierumäki Finnish Challenge (4-7 August) and then move to Denmark for the Frederikshavn Challenge (11-14 August) before two events in Sweden.

Vierumäki Finnish Challenge, schedule

On the path of the Vierumäki Resort, in the city from which the club takes its name, seven Italians will be involved: Luca Cianchetti, Giacomo Fortini, Jacopo Vecchi Fossa, Federico Maccario, Edoardo Raffaele Lipparelli, Filippo Bergamaschi and Michele Ortolani, all with the aim of to do well and perhaps to feed the hopes, with a feat, to go up the Road To Mallorca (order of merit).

In the field six seasonal winners, the Spaniard Alejandro Del Rey, who seems to be one of the most fit players of the moment, the Danes Martin Simonsen and Nicolai Kristensen, the English Nathan Kimsey and the Germans Alexander Knappe and Marc Hammer.

the French Robin Sciot-Siegrist, the Swiss Jeremy Freiburghaus, the Belgian Christopher Mivis, the German Freddy Schott and the English Marco Penge. There are still eleven races to go until the end of the tour and this partly explains the numerous defections among the best, while some certainties also have weight.

The top six of the money list deserted the tournament, the Swedish Jens Dantorp, number one, the Danish Oliver Hundeboll and the South African Juan Carlo Ritchie who follow him, who are now sure of the 'card' for the DP World Tour 2023 (they will be awarded at the top twenty of this ranking), a few weeks ago they moved to the major circuit and will participate in the Cazoo Open.

Also stop the English Todd Clements, who won last week in the Irish Challenge, the Norwegian Kristian Krogh Johannessen and the French Clément Sordet who took a rest. In total, ten of the top twenty of the Road To Mallorca will be on the field, almost all those who are from the tenth place down where nothing has yet been established.

Lorenzo Scalise, 25th in the order of merit, also preferred to participate in the Cazoo Open. There will not be the Danish Marcus Helligkilde, reigning champion, also in Wales, but because last year he won the money list of the circuit and now plays on the DP World Tour. The prize pool is 250,000 euros of which 40,000 will go to the winner.

Challenge Tour

Challenge Tour moves to the Iberian peninsula

Challenge Tour, Matteo Manassero returns

Challenge Tour, two eagles on par 4s for a +7

Challenge Tour remains in Northern Europe

Challenge Tour, Ruuska dominates in Finland

Sam Bairstow, first title on the Challenge Tour