Wyndham, big change caused by suspension

by   |  VIEW 2742

Wyndham, big change caused by suspension

At the Wyndham Championship 2022 the tournament will start again tonight. The big change is caused by the suspension of the third lap of the last event well in advance before the FedEx Cup playoffs begin, one of the highlights of the PGA Tour.

Only 12 players completed the lap of the 86 remaining in the race (including the Irish Shane Lowry and others, saved from the cut due to the broken cap at the beginning of the day). In this situation, the US-South Korea couple formed by Brandon Wu and Sungjae Im, both at -12 and with a score that was starting to get quite interesting at the level of a single day, to have the temporary command of the operations, at least until to hole 11.

Wyndham Championship, results

The two are followed by another duo of the same nationalities, this time with John Huh and Joohyung Kim playing the part of the thirds in search of satisfactions at -11: it is to this particular quartet that the scene of potential winners is restricted for now.

One was stopped at 11, the other at 10. But there is also attention to others. Like, for example, the only one in the leading area who finished the lap, the Thai Kiradech Aphibarnrat, who rises and with an important -7 goes to -10 in fifth position, where he engages Brian Stuard, Davis Riley, Russell Henley, Ryan Moore and Indian Anirban Lahiri, whose recovery for today is scattered between holes 11 and 12.

Wyndham Championship is a PGA Tour golf tournament held annually in Greensboro, North Carolina. Originally called the Greater Greensboro Open, it has changed names based on successive sponsors. The tournament, which traditionally took place in the fall, now takes place in August.

It is the last PGA Tour tournament before the start of the FedEx Cup play-offs. Sam Snead holds, with this tournament, two records of the PGA Tour which are still relevant in 2008: with 8 victories, he holds the record for the number of victories obtained in the same tournament of the PGA circuit. His last victory, obtained in 1965, also made him the oldest winner of a PGA Tour tournament.