The Four Winds Invitational with 7 top players

by   |  VIEW 3144

The Four Winds Invitational with 7 top players

From 12 to 14 August, on the course of the South Bend Country Club in South Bend (Indiana), in the United States of America, the Four Winds Invitational, tournament of the Epson Tour (the second American women's circuit) will be staged.

The event will also be attended by Roberta Liti, the only blue in the race looking for a prestigious result and back from 15th place at the French Lick Charity Classic.

The Four Winds Invitational, schedule

There will not be the leader of the order of merit of the circuit Lucy Li and Xiaowen Yin, the 17-year-old Chinese (second in the 'money list') who has won the last two tournaments of the Epson Tour.

However, seven more of the best will be present ten athletes in the standings: Linnea Strom (third), Gabriella Then (fourth), Gina Kim (fifth), Grace Kim (sixth), Alexa Pano (seventh), Kum-Kang Park (eighth) and Dani Holmqvist (ninth).

The event will be held over a distance of 54 holes and will offer a total prize pool of $ 200,000. The Symetra Tour, formerly known as the LPGA Futures Tour or Duramed Futures Tour, is the official development and qualification tour of the LPGA Tour, open to both professional and amateur players.

The competition was founded in Florida in 1981 under the name of Tampa Bay Mini Tour. It officially became known as the Futures Golf Tour in 1983 and from 1999 it was introduced as an official development tour of the LPGA Tour (the largest US circuit in the women's golf).

Grace Park, Marilyn Lovander and Audra Burks were the first players to automatically qualify for the LPGA Tour by finishing first, second and third on the Futures Golf Tour Money List, respectively. The minimum age to participate was lowered to 17 years before the 2006 season began.

On July 18, 2007, the Ladies Professional Golf Association announced that it had acquired the Futures Tour, which had previously been a licensee of the same, with immediate effect. . Between the 2006 and 2010 seasons Duramed, a pharmaceutical company, was the official sponsor of the tour.

From the 2012 season, the US insurance company Symetra was chosen as the new official sponsor and the circuit was subsequently renamed as Symetra Tour.