Legends Tour restarts from the Irish Legends

by   |  VIEW 1771

Legends Tour restarts from the Irish Legends
Legends Tour restarts from the Irish Legends

The Legends Tour restarts from the Irish Legends presented by McGinley Foundation, an event that will take place on the Old Tom Morris Links of the Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort in Letterkenny, Ireland. In the field, also Emanuele Canonica is present.

Legends Tour, schedule

The blue will have to contend with some great champions of the past, such as Paul Lawrie (winner of the Open Championsip 1999) and Roger Chapman (who in 2012 won the Senior PGA Championship and the US Senior Open).

Also present were the Scotsman Euan McIntosh, who this year won over Riegler & Partner Legends, and the Frenchman Thomas Levet, who has three wins on the Legends Tour in his palmarès. The European Seniors Tour is a professional European tournament series for golfers over 50 years of age, which is managed by the European Tour and holds around 20 tournaments a year, almost exclusively on European soil.

Since 2018, the series has been called the Staysure Tour due to sponsorship. This series of events was launched in 1992. In the 2006 season, a total of just over €6.3 million in prize money was won at a total of 17 tournaments.

In relation to its US counterpart, the Champions Tour, it has far less funding than the difference in capital resources between the world's leading elite tournament series, the PGA TOUR and the European Tour. The most important tournament of the European Seniors Tour - a so-called Senior Major - is The Senior Open Championship, which is also included in the ranking of the Champions Tour.

The other senior majors are held in the United States and, with the exception of the U.S. Senior PGA Championship (since 2007) - not counted towards the European Seniors Tour money list. In 2007, Carl Mason (1953) won the Order of Merit, winning the John Jacobs Trophy.

He recorded 5 wins: the Ryder Cup Wales Seniors Open, the Bad Ragaz PGA Seniors Open in Switzerland, the European Senior Masters in Woburn, the PGA Seniors Championship and the Spanish OKI Castellon Open. Number 2 was Costantino Rocca from Italy, number 3 the Spaniard Juan Quiros.

On the agenda for 2008 were 20 tournaments, which counted towards the Order of Merit. Only the prize money of the US Senior Open does not count towards the European ranking. In 2008 the Order of Merit was won by Ian Woosnam, he won the Parkridge Polish Seniors Championship and the Russian Seniors Open.

He was also Rookie of the Year. There were 16 tournaments on the 2009 agenda. Carl Mason was the only player to record two wins, but Sam Torrance won the Order of Merit for the third time, second was Ian Woosnam, third was Carl Mason.

In 2010 there were 21 tournaments, including the Van Lanschot Senior Open on the Haagsche Golf. The Order of Merit was won by Boonchu Ruangkit, who won four tournaments. Number 2 was Chris Williams, number 3 Angel Franco. In 2011, 22 tournaments are on the agenda. The Van Lanschot Open was won by Des Smyth. At the end of July, Tom Watson is in first place.