Presidents Cup, the six choices of Davis Love

by   |  VIEW 4223

Presidents Cup, the six choices of Davis Love

Collin Morikawa, Jordan Spieth, Billy Horschel, Max Homa, Kevin Kisner and Cameron Young. These are the six choices of Davis Love III to complete the USA team which, from 22 to 25 September 2022, will challenge the International team in Charlotte (excluding European players) in the Presidents Cup.

Presidents Cup, players

Instead, Scottie Scheffler (world number 1), Patrick Cantlay, Sam Burns, Xander Schauffele, Justin Thomas and Tony Finau had already won a place in the team, through the qualifiers. The Presidents Cup is a golf competition between a US and an international selection representing the rest of the world excluding Europe (Asia, Africa, Central and South America, Oceania, Mexico and Canada).

Europe and the United States clash in another competition, the Ryder Cup. The Presidents Cup has been held every two years since 1994. It was initially organized in even years, but following the cancellation of the 2001 edition of the Ryder Cup due to the September 11 attacks and the postponement to the following year, the Presidents Cup was it is held in odd years until the 2019 edition; due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the consequent postponement of the 2020 edition of the Ryder Cup, the Presidents Cup is held again in even years.

The venue of the event varies, alternating between a US venue and a country of the international team. In this golfing competition, the US domination is almost absolute: in 12 editions, so far disputed, there are as many as 10 stars and stripes successes, a draw and only one success of the Rest of the World team.

The format of the Presidents Cup is similar to that of the Ryder Cup. Each team is made up of 12 players plus a non-playing captain, who chooses the pairs to play the foursome and fourballs matches. Currently the competition takes place over four days: the first three are dedicated to doubles matches (foursomes and fourballs), while the last day is held singles matches.

Winning a match earns one point, while in the event of a tie each team earns half a point. In total, 30 points are available, so 15½ points are required to win the competition. If the teams have the same score at the end of all singles, the competition ends in a draw.

Each team has 12 players. On Thursdays five fourballs matches (best ball) are played and on Fridays five foursomes matches (alternate shots). On Saturday, four fourball games and four foursomes are played. On Sunday the contest ends with twelve individual matches.

All matches use the match play system, meaning that the winner of each hole adds one point, and the player or team with the most points wins the match.