Presidents Cup, team Us favorite in Charlotte

by   |  VIEW 1489

Presidents Cup, team Us favorite in Charlotte

In Charlotte, in the United States (North Carolina), everything is ready for the 14th edition of the Presidents Cup - scheduled from 22 to 25 September - which is preparing to return as a protagonist three years after the last time.

Presidents Cup, schedule

On the one hand the USA led by Davis Love III (Major champion, won the PGA Championship in 1997), on the other the International Team (excluding European players) led by South African Trevor Immelman, winner of The Masters in 2008.

The challenge (the first edition was played in 1994, at the head of the organization there is the PGA Tour) will be held on the Quail Hollow Club course. No prize money is up for grabs, with the PGA Tour that will donate the proceeds to selected charities by players, captains and assistants of the two teams.

The United States has so far dominated the scene by winning the competition 11 times. The only exploit of the International Team came in 1998 in Australia, while the 2003 match in South Africa ended in a draw. The USA, once again, are starting with the underdogs.

Since they will also be able to count on the contribution of the world number 1, Scottie Scheffler. Among the big stars of the stars and stripes team here are, among others, Patrick Cantlay, Xander Schauffele and Justin Thomas.

The International Team (both teams consist of 12 players) will focus heavily on Japanese Hideki Matsuyama, South Korean Sungjae Im and Australian Adam Scott. Both the USA and the International Team had to deal with the forced stop - imposed by the PGA Tour - of some champions (from Bryson DeChambeau to Cameron Smith) who chose the Arab Super League and were excluded from the event.

Which will be decided over four days: on Thursday 22 September there are 5 foursome matches, Friday 5 fourballs, Saturday 4 fourball matches and as many foursomes. While on Sunday 25th the 12 singles matches will be played.

In the event of a tie, the two teams will "split" the Presidents Cup. And this is perhaps one of the main differences with the Ryder Cup (in case of a tie, the team that won the competition last time retains the trophy), which guarantees 28 points in total against 30 (this year) in the Presidents Cup.

The last edition of the Presidents Cup took place in 2019 when Tiger Woods 'United States overtook Ernie Els' International Team by a comeback. The postponement (due to medical emergency) of the Ryder Cup from 2020 to 2021 also caused the postponement of the Presidents Cup for one year.