Jay Monahan: "The war PGA-LIV continues"


Jay Monahan: "The war PGA-LIV continues"

"A prospect of peace between the PGA Tour and LIV Golf? It is out of the question". So Jay Monahan, 'commissioner' of the PGA Tour, on the eve of the Presidents Cup, at the start tomorrow in Charlotte. "I think I was quite clear - Monahan underlined - There is also a legal battle going on, so I think it is totally useless to add more".

Jay Monahan, statements

No hypothesis of an armistice, therefore, for the moment. Between the PGA Tour and the Arab Super League, the clash shows no sign of abating. The PGA Tour (official spelling PGA TOUR) is an organization headquartered in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA.

It operates the most important golf tour in the USA in 3 levels (levels): The PGA Tour, the top-level tour (with total prize money of US$ 270 million - as of 2010 - by far the highest-paying tournament series in the world[1])
The Korn Ferry Tour (since June 19, 2019),[2] formerly Web.com Tour, the Second-Level Tour
The Champions Tour, for professionals over 50 years of age In recent times, the PGA Tour has had to accept losses at a high level.

Unlike in previous years, the prize money for the entire tournament series fell slightly. In 2008 there was 280 million US dollars up for grabs, in 2009 it was 274 million US dollars.[3] The announcement by some top European players at the end of 2010 that they would play fewer tournaments in the USA also did not contribute to the increase in the American professional series.

Rory McIlroy announced he was returning his PGA Tour card. World number one Lee Westwood and Francesco Molinari had previously declared that they wanted to concentrate on the European Tour. The PGA Tour holds an annual fall qualifier, the Q-School, over 6 rounds, with the top 30, including 30th places tied, being eligible to play on the following year's top-level tour.

Eligible to play are the top 20 of the Nationwide Tour Annual Score and the top 125 of the top-level Annual PGA Tour Money Leaders. However, in some tournaments, called Invitationals, only the top 70 PGA Tour Money Leaders are eligible to play.

Participants in the current Ryder Cup or Presidents Cup are automatically granted full eligibility for two seasons. Separate qualification criteria apply to the Champions Tour. Initially, the professional tournament players were organized in their own department of the PGA of America, but with the advent of the golf boom in the 1960s it was foreseeable that a separate organization with professional structures was needed.

This is how the PGA Tour was founded in 1968. The PGA Tour does not operate any women's tournament series in the USA, these are run by the independent LPGA. In principle, women could take part in tournaments on the PGA Tour, provided that the qualification criteria are met or an invitation is issued by the respective organizer (sponsor).

So far, Suzy Whaley has been the only woman to qualify. Babe Zaharias, Annika Sorenstam, Se Ri Pak and Michelle Wie benefit.

Jay Monahan Pga Tour