Presidents Cup, International doesn't give up

by   |  VIEW 2959

Presidents Cup, International doesn't give up

In Charlotte (North Carolina) the International Team (excluding European players) raises its head, halves the disadvantage against the USA and, in the 12 single matches that will conclude the contest, will seek a comeback in the 14th edition of the Presidents Cup golf .

The United States of Davis Love III remain in the lead 11-7 and, to celebrate their ninth consecutive success in the competition, they will have to win 4.5 points (12 still up for grabs), against the 8.5 necessary for their opponents.

A very difficult undertaking for Trevor Immelman's International Team, however, the protagonist of a good comeback thanks to the three exploits obtained in the four fourball matches scheduled on the penultimate day of competition after the great balance in the foursomes.

Presidents Cup, results

The United States smiles with Justin Thomas, the first player in the history of the Presidents Cup to achieve 10 wins in 3 appearances in the event. But Davis Love III must solve the case involving Scottie Scheffler.

The world number 1, making his debut in this event, has not yet won a match. For him only a draw, with two defeats and an exclusion in the fourballs. In the single, Scheffler will face Colombian Sebastian Munoz. The 26-year-old from Ridgewood (New Jersey) is called to react.

Founded on the initiative of the US PGA Tour, the competition was first held in 1994 and named the Presidents Cup in honor of former US President Gerald Ford, who had assumed the patronage. In 1994 and 1996 the event took place in the USA, since 1998 the venue has alternated between the USA and a location elsewhere in the world.

Since the Ryder Cup was not held in 2001 and was postponed to the following year, the Presidents Cup has been held in odd-numbered years ever since, coinciding with the Seve Trophy. In 2017, Donald Trump was the first incumbent US President to present the trophy to the winning team.

As in the Ryder Cup, each team consists of 12 players and a non-playing captain who is responsible for line-up variations. Unlike the Ryder Cup, the competition has lasted 4 days since 2003 and all 12 players from each team are involved in the 6 doubles matches (foursomes and fourballs) on the 1st and 2nd day.

On the 3rd day, one player per team sits out in the 5 doubles matches. On the last day it's like the Ryder Cup again, i. i.e. there are 12 individual games. So a total of 34 points/matches are played, while the Ryder Cup only has 28.

Another important difference is that - as long as the cup winner has not been determined - the individual matches are played via a jump-off until a winner is determined. Only 30 matches have been played since 2015 – 5 doubles each on the 2nd day and 4 doubles matches on the 3rd day in both formats.