Mackenzie Hughes, a triumph at the playoffs

by   |  VIEW 1971

Mackenzie Hughes, a triumph at the playoffs

Like six years ago, this time Mackenzie Hughes wins the playoffs. Second career PGA Tour tournament for the Canadian, who beats Austrian Sepp Straka on the second playoff hole at the Sanderson Farms Championship 2022. Both had closed the 72 holes at -17, one with the last round in 69 strokes, the other completing it in 67.

A tournament that also risked the conclusion on Monday, because it ended at sunset and, perhaps, not even with the space for a further return to the tee shot of the 18.

Sanderson Farms Championship 2022, results

The two top South Africans of the week closed third and fourth respectively.

Garrick Higgo ends with -4 of the day and -16 total, making himself the protagonist of a good tournament in front of Dean Burmester, who scores a -15 by virtue of today's -5. There are two who can complain, and they are both in fifth position: the Argentine Emiliano Grillo, who devours the podium with the triple bogey at 14, and the American Mark Hubbard, who was in the lead after three laps and who closes above for the last 18 holes (+2).

With them two other USA: Nick Bradley and Keegan Bradley. For all of them it is -13. In ninth place, with a total score of -12, is the man of the day, Matthew NeSmith, who in this fourth lap posted a great -8 to recover 41 positions.

With him the compatriots Greyson Sigg and Taylor Montgomery, in addition to the Belgian Thomas Detry. Mackenzie Hughes (born November 23, 1990 in Hamilton, Ontario) is a Canadian professional golfer on the PGA Tour, who has three professional victories at The Canada Tour (2013), the Tour (2016) and the PGA Tour (2016).

On November 21, 2016, he won his first PGA Tour victory in the RSM Classic, the first Canadian winner on the PGA Tour in two years, when Nick Taylor won the Sanderson Farms Championship in the 2014/15 season, and the first Canadian winner of a non- alternate tournament in nine years, when Mike Weir won in 2007. In the 2020 Summer Olympics in Tokyo, he was number 50.