Russell Henley wins after more than 5 years

by   |  VIEW 1401

Russell Henley wins after more than 5 years

The World Wide Technology Championship at Mayakoba goes to Russell Henley who in Mexico, with a score of 261 (63 63 65 70, -23) hits, finds success on the PGA Tour five years and seven months after the last time. In Playa del Carmen, a disappointing test for Francesco Molinari.

The only blue in the competition, 3 / o after the first round, he ranked 68 / o with a score of 286 (64 70 77 75, +2) strokes.

Russell Henley, results

On the El Camaléon GC course (par 71), a late comeback for Scottie Scheffler.

The American, world number 2, in the fourth lap climbed from 35th to 3rd position with 266 (65 71 68 62, -18). Last 18 holes bogey free for the 26 year old from Ridgewood, author of an eagle and seven birdies. Nothing to do for Scheffler who, to return to the top of the world rankings, would have had to win or finish the competition in 2 / o place (alone).

This is Henley's fourth career success on the top American men's circuit. The 33-year-old from Macon, in his 249th appearance on the PGA Tour, dropped the poker by four strokes over his compatriot Brian Harman, 2 / o with 265 (-19).

The exploit brought him $ 1,476,000 for a total prize pool of 8,200,000. The success also allowed him to go from 59 / o to 33 / o place in the world ranking and from 155 / o to 6 / o place in the FedEx Cup. In an event also characterized by three "hole in one", respectively by Brian Harman, Seamus Power and Greyson Sigg.

Russell Henley (Macon (Georgia), April 12, 1989) is an American golfer. Henley played college golf for the University of Georgia (UGA). In 2010 he won the Haskins Award as the best collegiate golfer. Henley played in the US Open in 2010 and finished (with Scott Langley) as the best amateur.

As an amateur, he also played on the Nationwide Tour twice that year: the Nationwide Children's Hospital Invitational and the Stadium Athens Classic at UGA. In 2011, Henley won the Stadium Classic at UGA on the Nationwide Tour.

He was the second amateur winner on that Tour after Daniel Summerhays in 2007. The tournament took place on the golf course of his university.