DP World Tour Championship, Dubai until 31

by   |  VIEW 3326

DP World Tour Championship, Dubai until 31

The DP World Tour (European Tour) announced this Wednesday in a statement sent to the media the extension of the agreement with the Jumeirah Golf Estates complex, in Dubai, so that it continues to host the DP World Tour Championship for nine more years, until 2031.

DP World Tour Championship, Dubai

The World Championship, or final of the Race to Dubai, is the fifth and final Rolex Series event each season, and has been played on the Earth Course since 2009. The tour has seen the likes of Rory McIlroy, Jon Rahm, Matt Fitzpatrick and Collin Morikawa win.

Rahm has done it three times, the last five days ago. Another Spaniard who has also triumphed here is Álvaro Quirós, from Cádiz, in 2011. The Dubai World Championship (also officially known as the DP World Tour Championship, Dubai) is a golf tournament on the European Tour that was first held on 19–22 November 2009.

The tournament is held at Jumeirah Golf Estates in Dubai, United Arab Emirates and is played as the last official tournament on this year's European Tour and corresponds to The Tour Championship on the PGA Tour. The tournament is sponsored by DP World, a shipping company based in Dubai.

The event is the culmination of the European Tour Race to Dubai, which replaces the Order of Merit from 2009, and is played by the leading 60 players on the money list. The tournament replaces the Volvo Masters, which was a similar event for the leading 60 players on the money list (Order of Merit).

The PGA European Tour is the largest and most important collection of golf tournaments in Europe. It started in 1971, and is organized by the organization of the same name, which also organizes the Challenge Tour and the European Senior Tour.

The majority of the tournaments are played in Europe, but it also includes a number of tournaments that are played in e.g. Asia and Africa. The first tournament outside Europe was held in 1982 in Tunisia. The first months of the year (ie spring) are typically spent on tournaments outside of Europe where the weather is more suitable for golf, while the biggest tournaments are played during the summer in Europe.

In addition to the regular European Tour tournaments, there are also the four majors and the three World Golf Championships that count towards the money list. The European Tour also contributes to the holding of the Ryder Cup, an exciting team match between Europe and the United States that is played every two years.