Ashleigh Buhai won inaugural Australian Open

by   |  VIEW 1992

Ashleigh Buhai won inaugural Australian Open

South African Ashleigh Buhai won the women's component of the Australian Open, the inaugural double-gender event on oceanic territory. She did so with a one-shot lead over Shin Jiyai, who missed a five-foot birdie putt on the 18th hole that would have forced a playoff.

Ashleigh Buhai, results

It was a disappointing day for the home fans as the event returned after a three-year absence due to COVID-19. The Australians Hannah Green (third with -10), Grace Kim (fourth with -9) and Minjee Lee (fifth with -8) could not fight for the title against Buhai (-12) and Shin (-11).

Kim had worked his way up to share the lead on the final holes, but a double bogey on the 18th put an end to all chances of victory. Thus, she did hold on in first place Buhai despite her reeling with bogeys on 14 and 16,.

However, she steadied herself with a birdie on the 17th to score a 73 for the win. Final classification (par 72, 73)
1. Ashleigh Buhai (South Africa) 277 (69-69-66-73)
​2. Shin Jiyai (South Korea) 278 (68-68-67-75)

Hannah Green (Australia) 279 (68-66-71-74)
​4. Grace Kim (Australia) 280 (66-72-70-72)
​5. Minjee Lee (Australia) 281 (70-70-70-71)
​6. Jenny Shin (South Korea) 282 (60-73-71-68)

So Yeon Ryu (South Korea) 283 (69-69-70-75)
8. Marina Alex (United States) 284 (73-70-69-72)
8. Stephanie Kyriacou (Australian) 284 (71-70-71-72)
10. Fiona Xu (Australia) 286 (68-77-72-69) Australia is located in the Southern Hemisphere, surrounded by the Indian Ocean to the west and south, and the Pacific Ocean to the east.

It is formed by the Mainland, i.e. the continental part or the main island, Tasmania and other smaller islands called Remote Lands, such as the Cocos and Keeling Islands, Christmas Island, Norfolk Island, Lord Howe Island, the Macquarie Island (thought to be part of Tasmania) and Heard Island.

Canberra also claims the Australian Antarctic Territory with its bases. Inhabited by Aboriginal people for more than 40,000 years, it was colonized by the United Kingdom from the 18th century. Australians, who call themselves Aussies, are a multi-ethnic people, numbering not only Aboriginal and European, but also Asian and American.

Politically, Australia is a federal constitutional monarchy. The head of state is King Charles III of Australia (also King of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), represented by a governor-general. The capital is Canberra but the most populous city is Sydney, followed by Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide.

According to some sources, Australia and New Zealand are united under the term Australasia[7], which however also has other meanings: the set of islands between Asia and Australia (therefore also Indonesia[ 8]), or, according to English usage, New Guinea, Australia, New Zealand and smaller islands[8], or again, still according to older French and English usage, the whole of the Sunda Islands, the Philippines, the Moluccas , Australia, Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia[9][10]; finally, the term is sometimes used as a synonym of Insulindia or Indonesia; these last two meanings correspond to the etymology of the term, which means "South Asia".