The first 78 qualified players for the Masters


The first 78 qualified players for the Masters

As the end of the year approaches, the sending of the first invitations for the 87th edition of the Masters Tournament, which will take place in Augusta from April 6 to 9, has begun. Following the announcement on Tuesday of the authorization given to LIV players to participate in the next Masters via a press release signed by the President of the Augusta National Golf Club Fred Ridley, it is now possible to establish a precise list of players ranging from receive the prestigious invitation.

Masters 2023, players

A total of 16 players linked to the dissident circuit financed by the Public Investment Fund of Saudi Arabia (PIF) have already been invited, among them six former champions. Will defending champion and former world number 1 Scottie Scheffler be able to keep his green jacket? The last to have accomplished this feat is none other than Tiger Woods, winner in 2001 and 2002.

Attention will obviously be on the Tiger if he is able to play, but also on Rory McIlroy. The Northern Irishman, back to his best level, dreams of being the sixth player in history to complete the Grand Slam in his career.

He only needs a victory at the Masters to enter this very closed circle. 1. Former Masters Tournament winners (20)
Fred Couples, Sergio García, Dustin Johnson (12.18), Zach Johnson, Bernhard Langer, Sandy Lyle, Hideki Matsuyama (13.17.18), Phil Mickelson (4), Larry Mize, José María Olazabal, Patrick Reed, Scottie Scheffler (12,13,17,18), Charl Schwartzel (12), Adam Scott (17,18), Vijay Singh, Jordan Spieth (16,17,18), Bubba Watson, Mike Weir, Tiger Woods, Danny Willett ( 12) Other former winners still alive but unwilling or unable to play: Tommy Aaron, Jack Burke Jr., Angel Cabrera, Charles Coody, Ben Crenshaw, Nick Faldo, Raymond Floyd, Trevor Immelman, Jack Nicklaus, Mark O'Meara, Gary Player, Craig Stadler, Tom Watson, Ian Woosnam, Fuzzy Zoeller 2.

Winners of the US Open from 2018 to 2022 (5)
Bryson DeChambeau, Matt Fitzpatrick (17.18), Brooks Koepka (4), Jon Rahm (16.17.18), Gary Woodland 3. Winners of the Open Championship from 2018 to 2022 (4)
Shane Lowry (12,18), Francesco Molinari, Collin Morikawa (4,12,17,18), Cameron Smith (5,12,17,18) 4.

Winners of the PGA Championship from 2018 to 2022 (1)
Justin Thomas (5,12,17,18) 5. Recent winners of the Players Championship from 2021 to 2023 6. Gold medalist at the Olympic Games of the past year 7. Winner and finalist of the US amateur 2022 (2)
Sam Bennett (a), Ben Carr (a) 8.

Winner of the British Amateur 2022 (1)
Aldrich Potgieter (a) 9. Winner of the 2022 Asia-Pacific Amateur Championship (1)
Harrison Crowe 10. The winner of the 2023 Latin American Amateur Championship 11. The winner of the 2022 American Mid-Amateur Championship (1)
Matthew McClean (a) 12.

The first 12 and ex-aequo of the 2022 Masters (5)
Cameron Champ, Corey Conners (17.18), Sungjae Im (17.18), Rory McIlroy (14,16,17,18), Will Zalatoris (13,15,16,17,18) 13. The first 4 and ex-aequo of the US Open 2022 14. The first 4 and ex-aequo of The Open 2022 (3)
Tommy Fleetwood (18), Viktor Hovland (17.18), Cameron Young (15.17.18) 15.

The first 4 and tied for the PGA Championship 2022 (1)
Mito Pereira (18) 16. PGA Tour tournament winners from Masters 2022 to Masters 2023 (13)
Keegan Bradley (18), Sam Burns (17.18), Patrick Cantlay (17.18), Tony Finau (17.18), Russell Henley (18), Max Homa (17.18), Mackenzie Hughes (18), Billy Horschel (17.18), KH Lee (17.18), Tom Kim (17.18), Seamus Power (18), Xander Schauffele (17.18), Adam Svensson 17.

Players qualified for the Tour Championship 2022 (8)
Brian Harman, Tom Hoge, Joaquin Niemann, JT Poston, Scott Stallings, Sepp Staka, Sahith Theegala, Aaron Wise 18. Top 50 Official World Golf Rankings as of December 31, 2022 (13)
Abraham Ancer, Ryan Fox, Talor Gooch, Tyrrell Hatton, Kevin Kisner, Kurt Kitayama, Jason Kokrak, Adrian Meronk, Kevin Na, Alex Noren, Louis Oosthuizen, Thomas Pieters, Harold Varner III 19. Top 50 Official World Golf Ranking Players as of March 27, 2022 20. Invited international players