Sebastian Munoz with the Liv Super League

by   |  VIEW 1559

Sebastian Munoz with the Liv Super League

No spin shots, at least for now. The 2023 Arab Super League of golf is a transfer campaign with no kicks. Who is preparing to announce the signing of the Colombian Sebastian Munoz - at least according to what the Telegraph claims -, number 90 in the world with a title on the PGA Tour conquered in 2019 at Sanderson Farms.

The dream of bringing Californians Patrick Cantlay and Xander Schauffele into their ranks, respectively in fifth and sixth place in the world rankings, is currently faded. At least until the 2023 Ryder Cup in Rome, the two Americans should remain on the top US circuit.

Liv, players

And so, accounts in hand, LIV Golf today can count - as far as the world Top 10 is concerned - on just one player: Australian Cameron Smith, currently fourth. And if it is true that several Major champions, from Dustin Johnson to Phil Mickelson, from Smith to Sergio Garcia passing through Bryson DeChambeau and Patrick Reed, have chosen the separatist league of the green, practically all the current top players have remained in the traditionalist circuits.

Driven by Rory McIlroy, number 1 in the world, and Tiger Woods, emblem of the green. And there are many, from Jon Rahm to Collin Morikawa, from Justin Thomas to Matt Fitzpatrick, who have chosen the new league (The Golf League) founded by McIlroy and Woods as a response to LIV Golf.

The PGA Tour is an organization that curates major professional golf tours in the United States. It is based in Ponte Vedra Beach, a suburb of Jacksonville, Florida. The PGA Tour became its own organization in 1968, when it split from the PGA of America, which is now primarily an association of golf professionals, such as instructors and club managers.

Tournament players first formed their own organization, the Association of Professional Golfers (APG). Later, in 1968, the players abolished the APG and agreed to operate as the PGA "Tournament Players Division", a fully autonomous division of the PGA, overseen by a new 10-member Tournament Policy Board.

The name then officially changed to "PGA Tour" in 1975. In 1981, it had a marketing dispute with the PGA of America and decided to officially change its name. From the end of August of that year it becomes "TPA Tour", which stands for "Tournament Players Association".

The dispute was resolved within seven months and the name of the tour reverted to being "PGA Tour" in March 1982. Due to the multiplicity of similar denominations, it is good to explain what the PGA Tour does and does not do.

The PGA Tour does not operate any of the major four tournaments or the Ryder Cup. The PGA of America, not the PGA Tour, organizes the PGA Championship, the Senior PGA Championship, and co-organises the Ryder Cup with the PGA European Tour.

The PGA Tour is not involved in the women's tours of the United States, which are controlled by the LPGA. Furthermore, the PGA Tour is not the official body that regulates the game of golf in the United States: this is instead the role of the USGA, which also organizes the U.S.

open. Instead, what the PGA Tour does is organize all the rest of the golf events week after week, including The Players Championship and the FedEx Cup as well as the biennial Presidents Cup.