WGC-Dell Technologies 23, last time in Austin

by   |  VIEW 1599

WGC-Dell Technologies 23, last time in Austin
WGC-Dell Technologies 23, last time in Austin (Provided by Tennis World USA)

What will be held this year in Austin will be a somewhat sad edition of the WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play. The World Golf Championship tournaments, which until a few years ago enjoyed great prestige, have quickly been replaced by others on the world golf calendar and, this year, it really seems that it is difficult to see a real future for them.

The proof is also in the end of the match play tournament which is spread over five days. It seemed untouchable, but this year will be the last time.

WGC-Dell Technologies, schedule

Thanks to the events of the past weeks, there will be no one able to undermine the number 1 of Scottie Scheffler during this week.

However, there will be a chance for Rory McIlroy to unseat Jon Rahm from second place in what is now a constant shuffling of the cards in the top tiers. The system, as usual, is that of groups with subsequent direct elimination draw.

Each player plays 18 holes against the other three on Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays. The winners of each group qualify for the round of 16. From now on, 36 holes are played every day on weekends, i.e. Saturday and Sunday. In this case, clearly, we go on with the eighths, quarters, semifinals and final.

Whoever makes it to Sunday plays twice in any case, because in addition to the final, there is also a match for third place. And, of course, there may not even be 18 holes that are played, given the match play formula. Last year Scheffler was the winner, at the end of an edition to truly remember for many reasons.

Group: 1 Scottie Scheffler (1) Tom Kim (17) Alex Noren (38) Davis Riley (54)
Group: 2 Jon Rahm (2) Billy Horschel (22) Keith Mitchell (39) Ricky Fowler (49) Group: 3 Rory McIlroy (3) Keegan Bradley (20) Denny McCarthy (48) Scott Stallings (52) Group: 4 Patrick Cantlay (4) Brian Harman (25) K.H.

Lee (35) Nick Taylor (55) Group: 5 Max Homa (5) Hideki Matsuyama (18) Kevin Kisner (42) Justin Suh (63) Group: 6 Xander Schauffele (6) Tom Hoge (23) Aaron Wise (40) Cam Davis (64) Group: 7 Will Zalatoris (7) Ryan Fox (29) Harris English (37) Andrew Putnam (56) Group: 8 Victor Hovland (8) Chris Kirk (28) Si Woo Kim (34) Matt Kuchar (59) Group: 9 Collin Morikawa (9) Jason Day (32) Adam Svensson (44) Victor Perez (51) Group: 10 Tony Finau (10) Kurt Kitayama (19) Adrian Meronk (45) Christiaan Bezuidenhout (60) Group: 11 Matt Fitzpatrick (11) Sahith Theegala (26) Min Woo Lee (41) J.J.

Spaun (61) Group: 12 Jordan Spieth (12) Shane Lowry (21) Taylor Montgomery (47) Mackenzie Hughes (50) Group: 13 Sam Burns (13) Seamus Power (30) Adam Scott (33) Adam Hadwin (53) Group: 14 Tyrrell Hatton (14) Russell Henley (31) Lucas Herbert (46) Ben Griffin (62) Group: 15 Cameron Young (15) Sepp Straka (27) Corey Conners (36) Davis Thompson (57) Group: 16 Sungjae Im (16) Tommy Fleetwood (24) J.T. Poston (43) Maverick McNealy (58)

Scottie Scheffler