Memorial Tournament, three leaders together

by   |  VIEW 1456

Memorial Tournament, three leaders together
Memorial Tournament, three leaders together

Balance and spectacle in the USA where, after the "moving day" of the Memorial Tournament, a high tournament of the PGA Tour which offers 20,000,000 dollars up for grabs, of which 3,600,000 will go to the winner, there are three leaders.

In Dublin, Ohio, with a total of 210 (-6) hits, the Northern Irishman Rory McIlroy (72 68 70), world number 3, the South Korean Si Woo Kim (71 68 71) and the American David Lipsky (69 69 72).

Memorial Tournament, statements

At Muirfield Village GC (par 72), a course that underwent a restyling in 2021 by the founder of the competition, the legend Jack Nicklaus, there is also a tussle in 4th place (211, -5), shared by five players, among them also the Norwegian Viktor Hovland, 7/o in the world ranking.

While Patrick Cantlay, champion in both 2019 and 2021, and Hideki Matsuyama, both 9/i with 212 (-4) also lost ground alongside Collin Morikawa who however recovered 25 positions. Few chances of success for the Spanish Jon Rahm, 23rd with 214 (-2) and winner in 2020.

Comeback, but Scottie Scheffler stays away. The American, number 1 in the world, is 32/o in the United States with 215 (-1). McIlroy is chasing his 24th exploit on the PGA Tour, the second of the season after the one that arrived in the CJ Cup.

While Lipsky dreams of becoming the first player since 2017 (Jason Dufner) outside the Top 50 in the world rankings to win The Memorial. Spotlights also on Kim, in great shape. But the challenge for the title is wide open. The PGA Tour became its own organization in 1968, when it split from the PGA of America, which is now primarily an association of golf professionals, such as instructors and club managers.

Tournament players first formed their own organization, the Association of Professional Golfers (APG). Later, in 1968, the players abolished the APG and agreed to operate as the PGA "Tournament Players Division", a fully autonomous division of the PGA, overseen by a new 10-member Tournament Policy Board.

The name then officially changed to "PGA Tour" in 1975. In 1981, it had a marketing dispute with the PGA of America and decided to officially change its name. From the end of August of that year it becomes "TPA Tour", which stands for "Tournament Players Association". The dispute was resolved within seven months and the name of the tour reverted to being "PGA Tour" in March 1982.

Pga Tour

Bale will be present in PGA Tour 2K23 game

Fortinet Championship, the PGA Tour returns

Cyril Bouniol is finally back on the PGA Tour

Two Pga Tour stars will be at the French Open

Cameron Smith on the LIV Golf-PGA Tour merger: I thought it was kind of a joke

Kevin Kisner calls PGA Tour leaders insane: They have the gold, we don't