Bryson DeChambeau is back, two anecdotes

The US player revealed that the top management of LIV Golf had, in his time, informed the players of the existence of a bonus, hidden in the folds of the rule book

by Andrea Gussoni
SHARE
Bryson DeChambeau is back, two anecdotes

When he played on the PGA Tour he was often at the center of discussions, if not controversies, for the philosophy, technique and athletic training he applied to the game of golf. His move to LIV Golf, which was, of course, the reason for other discussions, which took place in June last year, has, in fact, marked his exit from the spotlight.

In this year as a second line, DeChambeau has changed a lot, as we have already seen. And the results of these changes have paid off.

Bryson DeChambeau, anecdotes

In the last round of the LIV Golf event at Greenbrier, the player from Modesto accomplished the epic feat of hitting 58 shots (12 under par), entering the very limited circle of "Mr.58s".

Before him, only three other players have succeeded: Ryo Ishikawa at The Crowns in 2010, Jim Furyk at the Travelers Championship in 2016 and S.H.Kim at the Golf Partner Pro-Am in 2021. The technicians said everything about DeChambeau's performance.

There are two anecdotes. Before playing Greenbrier, the Californian player, living up to his nickname ("The Scientist"), went to the north of England, and more precisely to Warrington, where the Scottsdale Golf performance center is located, one of the most advanced fittings in the world.

DeChambeau personally followed up on his equipment analysis that led to his first win in the LIV Invitational Series. The other anecdote he told himself. The US player revealed that the top management of LIV Golf had, in his time, informed the players of the existence of a bonus, hidden in the folds of the rule book.

Any player who manages to complete a round of an event in 54 strokes will receive a $54 million prize. 54 (LIV in Roman numerals) is the "magic number" of the Saudi League, and this mega-bonus is there to underline it. The news emerged during a show where DeChambeau was a guest.

The handler asked him if he could remember four strokes that he could "save up" to get to the bonus. “I bogeyed on the 8, I overshot on the 11, I missed the putt on the 13th by 10cm and on the 14th I was short for little courage” "It's the blows that separated me from finishing the lap in 54, it would have been fantastic". Bryson is back. Will we see him on the field at Marco Simone?

Bryson Dechambeau Liv Golf
SHARE