The Italian Open '24'll be from 27 to 30 June

The 81st edition of the Italian golf Open will be played from 27 to 30 June 2024

by Andrea Gussoni
The Italian Open '24'll be from 27 to 30 June

The 81st edition of the Italian golf Open will be played from 27 to 30 June 2024. The date was made official by the DP World Tour which unveiled the calendar for next season, while the venue will be defined later. The 2022 edition took place at the Marco Simone Golf & Country Club in Guidonia Montecelio (Rome), which will soon host the Ryder Cup, the challenge between Team Europe and Team USA scheduled from 29 September to 1 October.

Italian golf Open, schedule

The DP World Tour schedule will include a minimum of 44 tournaments in 24 countries and five continents and has a total prize pool of $148.5 million, excluding the Majors. The Italian Open will offer $3,250,000 up for grabs.

Two new tournaments enter the calendar: the Dubai Invitational (11-14 January) and the Bahrain Championship (1-4 February), while the China Open (2-5 May) returns for the first time since 2019. The DS Automobiles Italian Open (in Italian Open d'Italia) is the main Italian men's golf tournament.

It was founded in 1925, except for 1933 and in World War II. Since 1960, it has been played annually. After an eleven-year hiatus, it returns in 1971. It is part of the European Tour. In 2022, the 82nd edition of the tournament was held.
The first edition of the tournament - which was held at the Alpine Golf Club of Stresa on Lake Maggiore (which takes its name from the Alpine location) [1] - sees the Italian Francesco Pasquali emerge as the winner.

Since then only five other Italians have triumphed: Aldo Casera in 1948
Ugo Grappasonni in 1950 and 1954
Baldovino Dassù in 1976
Massimo Mannelli in 1980
Francesco Molinari in 2006 and 2016 The Italian Open is played under the rules of The Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews, the rules of the PGA European Tour and local rules issued by the Championship Committee.

The tournament, open to professional, partial and temporary members of the PGA European Tour and to amateurs with an advantage of 0 or less, will be played over 72 holes, with the stroke play formula. The first 65 professionals classified plus those tied in 65th place and the amateurs whose score is not higher than that of the 65th classified will be admitted to play in the 3rd and 4th round.

In the event of a tie for 1st place, the players will play a hole-by-hole play-off immediately after the end of the match. Most wins: 4 Auguste Boyer: 1926, 1928, 1930, 1931
Flory van Donck: 1938, 1947, 1953, 1955