Solheim Cup, completed the European team

Celine Boutier (Fra), Maja Stark (Sue), Charley Hull (Eng), Leona Maguire (Irl), Georgia Hall (Eng), Linn Grant (Sue), Carlota Ciganda (Esp) and Anna Nordqvist (Sue) had qualified directly

by Andrea Gussoni
Solheim Cup, completed the European team
© Getty Images Sport - Gregory Shamus / Staff

Captain Suzann Pettersen chose the Swedish Madelene Sagström and Caroline Hedwall, the Scottish Gemma Dryburgh and the Danish Emily Kristine Pedersen to complete the European team that will play the Solheim Cup from September 22 to 24 at Finca Cortesín, Málaga, against the United States.

Solheim Cup, team

Celine Boutier (Fra), Maja Stark (Sue), Charley Hull (Eng), Leona Maguire (Irl), Georgia Hall (Eng), Linn Grant (Sue), Carlota Ciganda (Esp) and Anna Nordqvist (Sue) had qualified directly. ). Sagström will contest this competition for the third time, she already contributed to the 2017 triumph in Toledo (Ohio / USA).

There she sealed Pedersen's success with a putt. She will also be the third presence of her. Dryburgh becomes the third 'rookie' of the formation. It will be released, as will also be the case with the Swedish Stark and Grant.

Sweden will have a majority with five players. The Solheim Cup (in English: Solheim Cup) is a biennial golf tournament that pits women's teams of professional players from Europe against the US, and is played in the same format as the Ryder Cup.

The initiative for this competition was born from Karsten Solheim, founder of the American brand PING, which manufactures golf items. The first tournament was held in 1990 and, after that, it was held in various places in even years until 2002.

After the Ryder Cup calendar was modified, since 2003 it has been held in odd years to avoid date conflicts. The tournament is played over three days with a total of twenty-eight matches: eight foursomes, eight fourballs and twelve singles on the last day.

This is exactly the same as the Ryder format. Women's golf in Europe only depopulated some time after the creation of the LPGA in the United States of America. In 1978, the Women's Professional Golfers' Association (or simply WPGA) was founded, underpinning the largest operating Professional Golfers' Association in the United Kingdom.

The following year a tour was established with Carlsberg as the main sponsor and including 12 tournaments (36 holes), including the Women's British Open. For his first two seasons the Tour fields were rated for 36 strokes, later increased to 54; the prize money also underwent an increase, going from the initial 80,000 pounds to 250,000 in 1981, at the cost, however, of the loss of important tournaments and sponsorships.

At the end of the 1981 season the collaboration with Carlsberg ended, and despite an initial optimism, the Ladies European Tour experienced a period of crisis which culminated in the cancellation of further stages. In the second part of the eighties the circuit found itself with only 10 tournaments left and its future was called into question.

Charley Hull Leona Maguire