Sahith Theegala wins Fortinet Championship


Sahith Theegala wins Fortinet Championship
© Getty Images Sport - Orlando Ramirez / Stringer

The golfers of the PGA Tour closed another week of effort by closing the fourth and decisive round of the Fortinet Championship (prize money 8.4 million dollars). The tournament, born in 2007 and known in the past as the Safeway Open, smiles on Sahith Theegala.

The American controls in the Sunday round, scoring a solid -4 which allows him to reach an overall -21 (267 shots).

Sahith Theegala, results

For Theegala, a two-length margin over his closest pursuer who bears the name of the South Korean S.H.

Kim. -17 and third place alone for the Australian Cam Davis, followed by just one shot by the American Eric Cole. Fifth place alone with -15 for the host Justin Thomas, seventh at -14 for the American Brendon Todd. On the par 72 course of the Silverado Country Club in Napa (California, United States), the English Callum Tarren and the Americans Matt Kuchar, Max Homa and Troy Merritt close the top ten with a score of -13 in seventh place.

The latter is the best of the day thanks to a super round of -7 which allows him to recover 30 positions. For Theegala, a twenty-five year old from Orange (California), the success achieved in Napa is the first on the PGA Tour and the second of his professional career after the QBE Shootout 2022.

Next week the overseas circuit will rest to allow the players called up for the upcoming Ryder Cup to prepare as best as possible for the Rome event. The PGA Tour is an organization that hosts major professional golf tours in the United States.

It is headquartered in Ponte Vedra Beach, a suburb of Jacksonville, Florida. Its official name is written in all capital letters, namely "PGA TOUR". The PGA Tour became its own organization in 1968, when it split from the PGA of America, which is now primarily an association of golf professionals, such as instructors and club managers.

The tournament players first formed their own organization, the Association of Professional Golfers (APG). Subsequently, in 1968, the players abolished the APG and agreed to operate as the PGA "Tournament Players Division", a completely autonomous division of the PGA, under the supervision of a new 10-member Tournament Policy Board.

Pga Tour