Sahit Theegala, a victory that is worth double


Sahit Theegala, a victory that is worth double
Sahit Theegala, a victory that is worth double © Getty Images Sport - Orlando Ramirez / Stringer

The American Sahith Theegala achieved his first title on the North American circuit (PGA Tour) by winning the Fortinet Championship on Sunday, at the Silverado Resort, in Napa (California), with which the new season begins (seven tournaments in 2023).

Sahith Theegala, results

With a final round of 68, he finished -21, two strokes ahead of South Korea's Seong-hyeon Kim. This victory opens the doors wide for him to the Augusta Masters next year. The 25-year-old made seven birdies to open up a five-shot lead, which he managed until the last hole of the round, which he covered with a bogey.

"It doesn't seem real, I probably won't realize it for a while," Theegala declared after his victory, stating that he had played the "most fun game of his life." Australian Cam Davis completed the podium with -17. Ryders Justin Thomas and Max Homa (defending title) finished fifth and eighth respectively.

Final classification (par 72): 267. Sahith Theegala (USA) - 21 (68-64-67-68) 269 Kim Seong-hyeon (CDS) -19 (65-67-69-68) 271 Cam Davis (AUS) -17 (68-68-65-70) 272 Eric Cole (USA) -16 (68-66-68-70) 273 Justin Thomas (USA) -15 (69-67-65-72) 274 Brendon Todd (USA) -14 (69-71-68-66) 275 Troy Merritt (USA) -13 (74-67-69-65) Max Homa (USA) -13 (70-66-70-69) The PGA Tour is an organization that hosts major professional golf tours in the United States.

It is headquartered in Ponte Vedra Beach, a suburb of Jacksonville, Florida. Its official name is written in all capital letters, namely "PGA TOUR". The PGA Tour became its own organization in 1968, when it split from the PGA of America, which is now primarily an association of golf professionals, such as instructors and club managers.

The tournament players first formed their own organization, the Association of Professional Golfers (APG). Subsequently, in 1968, the players abolished the APG and agreed to operate as the PGA "Tournament Players Division", a completely autonomous division of the PGA, under the supervision of a new 10-member Tournament Policy Board.