Ryder Cup to Europe, USA ko after 5 years


Ryder Cup to Europe, USA ko after 5 years
Ryder Cup to Europe, USA ko after 5 years © Getty Images Sport - Stuart Franklin / Staff

Europe wins the Ryder Cup at the Marco Simone Golf and Country Club in Guidonia. The half point scored by Tommy Fleetwood in the match play against Ricky Fowler was decisive. After the first day and Saturday morning, in which Luke Donald's team had accumulated a large advantage, from yesterday's fourball the Americans began a slow comeback but stopped by the Englishman who had already been the protagonist in 2018 together with Francesco Molinari.

Ryder Cup, results

The first Italian edition in the history of the competition between Europe and the United States ends. Edoardo Molinari and Francesco Molinari, vice-captains, thus won a second Ryder Cup together after the one in 2010.

After 5 years the Ryder thus returns to Europe, with the USA, winners in the last edition held in Kohler, Wisconsin, which once again time they fail to impose themselves on European soil, where they have failed to win the trophy since 1993.

The Ryder Cup is a golf trophy created in 1927, bequeathed by Samuel Ryder, which rewards every two years the winner of the tournament which has pitted Europe and the United States against each other since 1979. The competition is jointly administered by the PGA of America and the PGA European Tour and is played alternately on European and American courses.

This competition has its origins in an exhibition match which took place in 1926 between two professional teams, an American and a British, on the Wenworth Club course in the United Kingdom. The first real Ryder Cup was played in 1927 in the United States.

The first meetings between the two teams were very close. After the Second World War, the American team continually dominated the British team, so it was decided to integrate Irish players into Great Britain (1973), then golfers from across the European continent (1979).

This change was made possible by the emergence of a new generation of Spanish golfers, such as Severiano Ballesteros. Since then, Danish, French, German, Italian, Swedish, Belgian, Austrian and Norwegian players have come to defend the colors of the European team.

These various improvements have succeeded in making this event much more balanced. Since 1979, the Europeans have won the trophy 11 times and the Americans have won it 9 times. The 42nd competition took place from September 28 to September 30, 2018 at the Golf national de Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, in France. The European team regained the trophy after losing it in the previous edition.

Ryder Cup

• Ryder Cup, success for development of golf
• Italy, team play brought Ryder Cup success
• Zach Johnson explains one regret after Ryder Cup failure
• Adrian Meronk admits that it was tough to watch the Ryder Cup
• Justin Rose Discusses the Opportunity to Captain the Ryder Cup 2025 Team
• Luke Donald on the reasons why golfers should not be paid at the Ryder Cup