Ryder Cup, all the winners: Europe rises to 15


Ryder Cup, all the winners: Europe rises to 15
Ryder Cup, all the winners: Europe rises to 15 © Getty Images Sport - Andrew Redington / Staff

This is the Ryder Cup roll of honour.

Ryder Cup, all the winner

1927 United States 1929 United Kingdom 1931 United States 1933 United Kingdom 1935 United States 1937 United States 1947 United States 1949 United States 1951 United States 1953 United States 1955 United States 1957 United Kingdom 1959 United States 1961 USA 1963 USA 1965 USA 1967 USA 1969 draw, USA retained the trophy 1971 USA 1973 USA 1975 USA 1977 USA 1979 USA 1981 USA 1983 USA 1985 Europe 1987 Europe 1989 draw, l 'Europe retained the trophy 1991 United States 1993 United States 1995 Europe 1997 Europe 1999 United States 2002 Europe 2004 Europe 2006 Europe 2008 United States 2010 Europe 2012 Europe 2014 Europe 2016 United States 2018 Europe 2021 United States 2023 Europe The competition, named after the trophy donated by Englishman Samuel Ryder (1858–1936) to the American federation in 1924, is co-managed by the European Tour and the PGA of America.

From 1927 to 1971 the tournament took place between the selection of the United States and that of Great Britain, with a clear American dominance (15-3) and only one draw. Ireland was incorporated into Great Britain in 1973 and the rest of continental Europe in 1979.

Following the acceptance of the European team as an antagonist of the US team, the tournament was much more balanced: from 1979 to 2018, in fact, there were eleven successes for Europe, eight for the United States and only one draw.

The Ryder Cup is hosted alternately on the two continents in odd-numbered years. For Europe, British golf courses have historically always been chosen, with the exception of the editions of: 1997, played at the Valderrama Golf Club (Spain) in honor of the former Spanish golfer Severiano Ballesteros, 2018 played in Saint-Quentin-en -Yvelines (France) and, lastly, in 2023, which was held at the Marco Simone Golf & Country Club (Italy).

Due to the terrorist attacks of 11 September 2001, the scheduled edition of the Ryder Cup was played the following year, consequently moving the competition to even years, until the 2018 edition. The following tournament, scheduled for 2020, was postponed to 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, thus moving the Ryder Cup to odd years again.

Among the European ranks, it is worth mentioning the presence, on three different occasions (1993, 1995 and 1997), of one of the most famous Italian players in the history of golf, Costantino Rocca, remembered for his famous hole-in-one during the edition of 1995.

The Italians Francesco Molinari and Edoardo Molinari were the first brothers to compete for the European team in the same Ryder Cup, thanks to their simultaneous participation in the 2010 edition. Francesco Molinari also took part in the 2012 editions, in the United States , and 2018, in France. The reigning champion selection is the European team that won the title in the 2023 edition.

Ryder Cup European Tour Pga

• New meeting planned between PGA and PIF
• Ryder Cup, Luke Donald confirmed as captain
• Jordan Spieth on Tiger Woods' focus: PGA Tour players always on his mind
• Tiger Woods surprised by PGA Tour/PIF merger process
• Luke Donald confirmed as European Ryder Cup captain for Bethpage Black 2025
• Ryder Cup, success for development of golf