Team Napoleaova was crowned in Hong Kong


Team Napoleaova was crowned in Hong Kong
Team Napoleaova was crowned in Hong Kong © Getty Images Sport - Octavio Passos / Stringer

The team of the Czech Kristyna Napoleaova won the Aramco Team Series in Hong Kong accompanied by the German Fünfstück and the Argentine Magdalena Simmermacher. Nastasia Nadaud makes the individual cut behind a leading duo composed of world number three Jin Young Ko and Chinese Xi Yu Lin, before the final round tomorrow.

Hong Kong, results

The Hong Kong Aramco Team Series revealed the name of its winning team by crowning Team Napoleaova. The Czech Kristyna Napoleaova was accompanied by the German Laura Fünfstück and the Argentine Magdalena Simmermacher.

The trio (accompanied by an amateur) finished at -31 over two rounds (only the two best scores from each hole were kept). Agathe Sauzon’s Team Ciganda finished fifth. The individual tournament will end on Sunday after a third round which promises to be full of suspense since the Chinese Xi Yu Lin joined the South Korean Jin Young Ko, 3rd in the world, in the lead at -11.

The Dutch Anne Van Dam completes the podium with one shot. Australian Stéphanie Kyriacou and Spaniard Nuria Iturrioz are also in the title race, two shots from the lead. Nastasia Nadaud (-3) is the only Frenchwoman qualified for the final round after her fine card of 69 on Saturday.

The Ladies European Tour (LET) is the professional circuit for female golfers (proettes) created in 1979, based in England. Most of the golfers who participate are European but it is possible to see golfers of non-European nationality, the largest contingent of which is Australian.

It is the equivalent of the LPGA for the European continent. Its mission is to organize and set up the various tournaments of the year, these can be organized outside Europe and/or be registered with another circuit (such as the Evian Masters which is also registered on the LPGA Tour).

Each year is rewarded with several trophies. The European Order of Merit is a ranking established on the victories obtained during the season. In the past, this ranking has sometimes used a points system. The Player of the Year, best player of the year, is a trophy whose winner is determined by a vote of the members of the circuit.

This vote should reward the most brilliant player of the season. The Rookie of the Year, best debutante of the year, rewards the best player, in the earnings ranking, completing her first season on the circuit. This trophy bore the name Bill Johnson Trophy from 1999 to 2003. It is now known as the Ryder Cup Wales Rookie of the Year.