Spain, the best neither Rahm nor Ballesteros

After the European exhibition against United States in the Ryder Cup last night at Marco Simone, the best golf on the continent takes place at Villa de Madrid

by Andrea Gussoni
Spain, the best neither Rahm nor Ballesteros
© Ross Kinnaird / Getty Images Sport

After the European exhibition against United States in the Ryder Cup last night at Marco Simone, the best golf on the continent takes place at Villa de Madrid, where the Acciona Open de España presented by Madrid 2023 will be celebrated.

Jon Rahm and Justin Rose They will be the most recognized dear ones of a tournament that always gives someone a surprise at the end of the week.

Open de España, results

This 2023 edition will again feature the presence of Jon Rahm, number three world champion and three-time champion of the Spanish Open (2018, 2019 and 2022).

The vasco ties with the victory in the Masters of Augusta in April of this same year and as not, going up victorious in the Ryder Cup which was about to be disputed. Likewise, Rahm also achieved this year: the Sentry Tournament of Champions, the American Express, the Genesis Invitational.

The 'León de Barrika', after equaling Severiano Ballesteros with three victories in the Spanish Open, becoming one of the two golfers who have accumulated the most trophies in modern history, will try in this edition to try out Ángel de la Torre, who with five titles (between 1916 and 1925) flaunt the record of the most victories in the tournament.

Palmarés of the Acciona Open de España de golf
1912 Arnaud Massy
1913 No dispute
1914 No dispute
1915 No dispute
1916 Ángel de la Torre
1917 Ángel de la Torre
1918 No dispute
1919 Ángel de la Torre
1921 Eugène Lafitte
1922 No dispute
1923 Ángel de la Torre
1924 No dispute
1925 Ángel de la Torre
1926 Joaquin Bernardino
1927 Arnaud Massy
1928 Arnaud Massy
1929 Eugène Lafitte
1930 Joaquin Bernardino
1931 No dispute
1932 Gabriel González
1933 Gabriel González
1934 Mariano Provencio
1935 Tomas Cayarga
1936 No dispute over the Civil War
1937 No dispute
1938 No dispute
1939No disputed
1940No disputed
1941 Mariano Provencio
1942 Gabriel González
1943 Mariano Provencio
1944 Nicasio Sagardia
1945 Carlos Celles
1946 Marcelino Morcillo 281
1947 Mario González
1948 Marcelino Morcillo
1949 Marcelino Morcillo
1950 Antonio Cerdá
1951 Mariano Provencio
1953 Max Faulkner
1954 Sebastian Miguel
1955 Conde de Lamaze (am)
1956 Peter Alliss
1957 Max Faulkner
1958 Peter Alliss
1959 Peter Thomson
1960 Sebastian Miguel
1961 Angel Miguel
1962 No disputed
1963 Ramón Sota
1964 Angel Miguel
1965 No dispute
1966 Roberto De Vicenzo
1967 Sebastian Miguel
1968 Bob Shaw
1969 Jean Garaïalde
1970 Angel Gallardo
1971 Dale Hayes
1972 Antonio Garrido
1973 Neil Coles
1974 Jerry Heard
1975 Arnold Palmer
1976 Eddie Polland
1977 Bernard
1978 Brian Barnes
1979 Dale Hayes
1980 Eddie Polland
1982 Sam Torrance
1983 Eamonn Darcy
1984 Bernhard Langer
1985 Seve Ballesteros
1986 Howard Clark
1987 Nick Faldo
1988 Mark James
1989 Bernhard Langer
1990 Rodger Davis
1991 Eduardo Romero
1992 Andrew Sherborne
1993 Joakim Haeggman
1994 Colin Montgomerie
1995 Seve Ballesteros
1996 Pádraig Harrington
1997 Mark James
1998 Thomas Bjørn
1999 Jarmo Sandelin
2000 Brian Davis
2001 Robert Karlsson
2002 Sergio Garcia
2003 Kenneth Ferrie
2004 Christian Cévaër
2005 Peter Hanson
2006 Niclas Fasth
2007 Charl Schwartzel
2008 Peter Lawrie
2009 Thomas Levet
2010 Álvaro Quirós
2011 Thomas Aiken
2012 Francesco Molinar
2013 Raphaël Jacquelin
2014 Miguel Ángel Jiménez
2015 James Morrison
2016 Andrew Johnston
2017 No dispute
2018 Jon Rahm
2019 Jon Rahm
2020 No dispute
2021 Rafael Cabrera-Bello
2022 Jon Rahm

Ryder Cup