The Ladies European Tour remains in Asia


The Ladies European Tour remains in Asia
© Getty Images Sport - Mike Ehrmann / Staff

The Ladies European Tour remains in Asia, moving from Hong Kong to India where the Hero Women's Indian Open is scheduled for 19 to 22 October at the DLF Golf & Country Club in Gurgaon, near New Delhi, in which only one Italian takes part , Virginia Elena Carta, fresh from 11th place in the previous Aramco Team Series where she found a pace more suited to her qualities after a difficult period.

Ladies European Tour, schedule

Playing at home and the Indian Diksha Dagar, 22 years old from Rohtak, number four in the Race To Costa del Sol (order of merit), among the most accredited favorites and who is going through a good moment in a season in which she signed the second title (Tipsport Czech Open) and achieved seven top tens.

There are numerous opponents who can prevent her from becoming a prophet in her homeland, including the Swede Johanna Gustavsson (number 2 in the ranking), the Thai Trichat Cheenglab (no. 5) and the Spanish Nuria Iturrioz (no.

10). Without neglecting the English Meghan MacLaren, Liz Young and Gabriella Cowley, the other Swede Lisa Pettersson, the Belgian Manon De Roey, the Argentine Magdalena Simmermacher, the Danish Smilla Tarning Soenderby and the French Celine Herbin.

The prize money is 400,000 dollars (approximately 378,000 euros). The Ladies European Tour (LET) is the professional circuit for female golfers (proettes) created in 1979, based in England. Most of the golfers who participate are European but it is possible to see golfers of non-European nationality, the largest contingent of which is Australian.

It is the equivalent of the LPGA for the European continent. Its mission is to organize and set up the various tournaments of the year, these can be organized outside Europe and/or be registered with another circuit (such as the Evian Masters which is also registered on the LPGA Tour).

Each year is rewarded with several trophies. The European Order of Merit is a ranking established on the victories obtained during the season. In the past, this ranking has sometimes used a points system. The Player of the Year, best player of the year, is a trophy whose winner is determined by a vote of the members of the circuit.

This vote should reward the most brilliant player of the season. The Rookie of the Year, best debutant of the year, rewards the best player, in the earnings ranking, completing her first season on the circuit. This trophy bore the name Bill Johnson Trophy from 1999 to 2003. It is now known as the Ryder Cup Wales Rookie of the Year.

European Tour