Hannah Screen, first success as professional


Hannah Screen, first success as professional
Hannah Screen, first success as professional © Getty Images Sport - Richard Heathcote / Staff

First success as a professional for the Englishwoman Hannah Screen who with 211 (69 69 73, -5) shots won the Calatayud Ladies Open, the penultimate seasonal tournament of the LET Access Series (second European women's circuit).

Hannah Screen, results

On the Gampio Golf Calatayud course (par 72), in Calatayud in Spain, the 22-year-old Londoner beat the German Verena Gimmy in the playoff (70 70 71), with whom she had finished the tournament on equal terms.

French Emie Peronnin was third with 212 (-4) and Danish Cecilie Finne-Ipsen and South African Lejan Lewthwaite were fourth with 215 (-1). The Italians Marta Spiazzi, 68th with 153 (+9) and Erika De Martini, 73rd with 154 (+10) did not make the cut.

For Hannah Screen, a former student at Oklahoma University, she boasts a good amateur career with successes in the English Women's u25 (2022) and in the Scottish Junior Open (2016), as well as several top tens in the competitions held in America when she attended the college.

For her a check for 6,400 euros out of a prize pool of 40,000. LETAS remains in Spain, in Zaragoza, for the last event, the Andalucia Costa del Sol Open, a race in which the six 'cards' for the Ladies European Tour 2024 will be established, assigned to the top six in the order of merit.

The Ladies European Tour (LET) is the professional circuit for female golfers (proettes) created in 1979, based in England. Most of the golfers who participate are European but it is possible to see golfers of non-European nationality, the largest contingent of which is Australian.

It is the equivalent of the LPGA for the European continent. Its mission is to organize and set up the various tournaments of the year, these can be organized outside Europe and/or be registered with another circuit (such as the Evian Masters which is also registered on the LPGA Tour).

Each year is rewarded with several trophies. The European Order of Merit is a ranking established on the victories obtained during the season. In the past, this ranking has sometimes used a points system. The Player of the Year, best player of the year, is a trophy whose winner is determined by a vote of the members of the circuit.

This vote should reward the most brilliant player of the season. The Rookie of the Year, best debutante of the year, rewards the best player, in the earnings ranking, completing her first season on the circuit. This trophy bore the name Bill Johnson Trophy from 1999 to 2003. It is now known as the Ryder Cup Wales Rookie of the Year.