Minjee Lee, tenth victory on the LPGA Tour


Minjee Lee, tenth victory on the LPGA Tour
Minjee Lee, tenth victory on the LPGA Tour © Dylan Buell / Getty Images Sport

The Australian Minjee Lee (-16) achieved the tenth victory of her career on the LPGA Tour this Sunday in Seoul after defeating the American Alison Lee (-16) in a tiebreaker in the BMW Ladies Championship, in her parents' homeland of the victor.

Minjee Lee, results

The American managed to tie with two holes remaining and take the tournament to a playoff, but there she was more powerful than the experience of the double Grand Slam winner to take the title with a birdie on the first extra hole.

The New Zealander Lydia Ko (-14), defending champion, and invited by the organization, fought to enter the playoff but a bogey on the 15th hole left her 'dry' although she fought at the end to make two final birdies and finish third In solitary.

Carlota Ciganda (-5) was 34th after a 70 that was insufficient for her comeback aspirations. The Spaniard started with birdie, bogeys at 8 and 10, she signed four birdies from 11 to 17 and left with a bad taste in her mouth with a bogey at 18.

The Ladies European Tour (LET) is the professional circuit for female golfers (proettes) created in 1979, based in England. Most of the golfers who participate are European but it is possible to see golfers of non-European nationality, the largest contingent of which is Australian.

It is the equivalent of the LPGA for the European continent. Its mission is to organize and set up the various tournaments of the year, these can be organized outside Europe and/or be registered with another circuit (such as the Evian Masters which is also registered on the LPGA Tour).

Each year is rewarded with several trophies. The European Order of Merit is a ranking established on the victories obtained during the season. In the past, this ranking has sometimes used a points system. The Player of the Year, best player of the year, is a trophy whose winner is determined by a vote of the members of the circuit.

This vote should reward the most brilliant player of the season. The Rookie of the Year, best debutante of the year, rewards the best player, in the earnings ranking, completing her first season on the circuit. This trophy bore the name Bill Johnson Trophy from 1999 to 2003. It is now known as the Ryder Cup Wales Rookie of the Year.

Minjee Lee Lpga Tour