Alison Lee continues to appear unstoppable


Alison Lee continues to appear unstoppable
© Getty Images Sport - Chung Sung-Jun / Staff

The American Alison Lee continues to appear unstoppable in the Aramco Series in Ryad of the European women's circuit, increasing her advantage to six strokes, after a second day in which she repeated the splendid 61 of Friday for a total of 122 (-22), and where The Spanish Carlota Ciganda climbed into second position and her team achieved the team victory.

Alison Lee, results

Lee continues with an immaculate course, with another 11 birdies and without making any mistakes. Only Carlota Ciganda comes close, although at a distance, with a second score of 63 strokes (-9), the result of seven birdies and an eagle on the 15th hole.

The great protagonist in Europe's victory in the last Solheim Cup at Finca Cortesín is second, six shots behind Lee and two ahead of the Swedish Pernilla Lindberg, who is third. The team captained by Ciganda, and accompanied by the professionals Alessandra Fanali from Italy, the Czech Sara Kouskova and the 18-year-old amateur player Lujain Khalil sponsored by Golf Saudi, has won with a total of -43, the sum of all the birdies of the teams.

The Ladies European Tour (LET) is the professional circuit for female golfers (proettes) created in 1979, based in England. Most of the golfers who participate are European but it is possible to see golfers of non-European nationality, the largest contingent of which is Australian.

It is the equivalent of the LPGA for the European continent. Its mission is to organize and set up the various tournaments of the year, these can be organized outside Europe and/or be registered with another circuit (such as the Evian Masters which is also registered on the LPGA Tour).

Each year is rewarded with several trophies. The European Order of Merit is a ranking established on the victories obtained during the season. In the past, this ranking has sometimes used a points system. The Player of the Year, best player of the year, is a trophy whose winner is determined by a vote of the members of the circuit.

This vote should reward the most brilliant player of the season. The Rookie of the Year, best debutante of the year, rewards the best player, in the earnings ranking, completing her first season on the circuit. This trophy bore the name Bill Johnson Trophy from 1999 to 2003. It is now known as the Ryder Cup Wales Rookie of the Year.