Jon Rahm, no to Tiger Woods: "I'm really sad"


Jon Rahm, no to Tiger Woods: "I'm really sad"
Jon Rahm, no to Tiger Woods: "I'm really sad" © Cliff Hawkins / Getty Images Sport

After being one of the first big names to join, Jon Rahm has announced that he will not participate in the first season of the TGL, the new golf league founded by Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy. "I am really sad to have to give this news.

While on the one hand I continue to think it is a great opportunity, on the other I must recognize that taking part in it would represent a commitment that I cannot guarantee at the moment. I wish everyone good luck", l the Spaniard's announcement on X.

Jon Rahm, statements

"Jon is one of the most talented players, we will miss him a lot but we understand his choice of him", the response from TGL. The new show, also in the name of technology, will start on January 9th. The first team has already been announced.

With Rory McIlroy there will be Keegan Bradley, Adam Scott and Tyrrell Hatton. And Rahm's replacement will be revealed soon. Jon Rahm Rodríguez (Barrica, Vizcaya, November 10, 1994) is a Spanish professional golfer,5​ current number 3 in the world.6​ He was number one in the World Amateur Golf Ranking for sixty weeks, holding the absolute record as number one in said classification.

He started as a professional in 2016, the year in which he participated in the United States Open, which he would win only five years later, on June 20, 2021, making him the first Spanish golfer to win this tournament. In 2017 he was champion of the San Diego Open, the Irish Open and the Dubai World Championship.

On July 19, 2020, he won the Memorial Tournament (Ohio) and reached the number one position in the PGA world golf rankings, ousting Rory McIlroy, thus becoming the twenty-fourth number one in history, the tenth European and the second Spaniard after Severiano Ballesteros.

In 2023 he became champion of the Augusta Masters (the fourth Spaniard after Severiano Ballesteros, Jose María Olazábal and Sergio García) and won his second Ryder Cup (2018, 2023) with the European team.

Jon Rahm Tiger Woods Rory Mcilroy