In Tarragona "cards" for DP World Tour 2024


In Tarragona "cards" for DP World Tour 2024
In Tarragona "cards" for DP World Tour 2024 © Getty Images Sport - Naomi Baker / Staff

In Tarragona, Spain, the 'cards' for the DP World Tour 2024 are assigned in the final of the Qualifying School. It will take place after a marathon of 108 holes, 18 per day, from 10 to 15 November at Infinitum Golf, on the Lakes Course and Hills Courses, where the top 25 in the ranking and those tied for 25th place will be rewarded.

The 156 contenders will alternate in the first 72 holes on the two layouts, then the best 70 and those tied for 70th place will play the final two rounds on the Lakes Course.

QS DP World Tour, schedule

Four Italian players on the field: Renato Paratore, Filippo Celli, Aron Zemmer and the amateur Pietro Bovari, the first admitted by right to the final phase, Celli and Zemmer promoted to Stage 2, from where they began their process, while Bovari passed the Stage 1 at the Bogogno Golf Resort (13th) and Stage 2 with second place at the Isla Canela Links in Huelva, Spain.

Naturally, they all have the qualities to get to the end, even if with different levels of experience, to be able to join the seven Italians who will be on the major circuit next year: Francesco Molinari, Edoardo Molinari, Guido Migliozzi, Lorenzo Scalise, Andrea Pavan, Matteo Manassero and Francesco Laporta, the last four with 'card' acquired through the Challenge Tour money list.

It won't be an easy race for anyone because the field includes many players who have already won on the DP World Tour, such as Paratore (2 successes), many of whom are difficult opponents even if they have suffered unsuccessful defeats in recent seasons.

We remember the Dane Joachim B. Hansen (2 titles), the French Gregory Bourdy (4), Gregory Havret (3 with an Italian Open, 2001) and Alexander Levy (5), the Scot Marc Warren (4), the Swede Kristoffer Broberg (2), the English Tom Lewis (2) and David Howell (5), a 48-year-old from Swindon, record holder of appearances on the circuit with 722.

And again the Spaniards Gonzalo Fernandez Castaño (7 with two in the Italian Open, 2007 , 2012), Alvaro Quiros (7 with one in the Rocco Forte Open, Verdura Italy 2017), the Korean Jeunghun Wang (3) and the South Africans Thomas Aiken (3) and Darren Fichardt (5), to name a few. Also at the start are 14 American players including John Catlin (3 wins).

DP World Tour

• DP World Tour from Johannesburg to Sydney
• DP World Tour Championship '23, all earnings
• The last hole of the DP World Tour in 2023
• Max Homa, first career title on DP World Tour
• Rory McIlroy Debuts Fresh TaylorMade Driver at DP World Tour Championship
• Five Notable Absences from the DP World Tour Championship Grand Finale