Asian Tour kicks off with the Malaysian Open


Asian Tour kicks off with the Malaysian Open
© Getty Images Sport - Warren Little / Staff

The Asian Tour 2024 kicks off with the IRS Prima Malaysian Open scheduled from February 15th to 18th at The Mines Resort & Golf Club in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Among the competitors is Stefano Mazzoli, making his debut after securing his spot on the circuit in January during the Qualifying School finals in Thailand, where he finished eighth.

Asian Tour, golf

The tournament features eight of the top ten players from the 2023 money list, all of whom are tournament winners: Filipino Miguel Tabuena (ranked 2nd), Indian Gaganjeet Bhullar (ranked 3rd), Australian Travis Smyth (ranked 4th), New Zealander Ben Campbell (ranked 5th), Thais Phachara Khongwatmai (ranked 6th) and Poom Saksansin (ranked 7th), Spaniard David Puig (ranked 8th), and Taichi Koh (ranked 9th) from Hong Kong.

The field also includes several competitors with past experience on the DP World Tour, some of whom have also claimed titles. Notable names include Thais Kiradech Aphibarnarat (4 titles) and Thaworn Wiratchant (3 titles), Englishman Sam Horsfield (3 titles), Indians SSP Chawrasia (4 titles) and Jeev Milkha Singh (4 titles), Korean Jeunghun Wang (3 titles), and Australians Marcus Fraser (3 titles) and Wade Ormsby (1 title).

Also worth watching are Americans Shiwan Kim, leader of the Asian Tour 2022 order of merit, and John Catlin, Thai Jazz Janewattananond, Australian Brendan Jones, and Malaysian Gavin Green, all capable of competing at a high level.

Stefano Mazzoli, a 27-year-old from Segrate, embarks on a new professional adventure on a circuit where he participated in the PIF Saudi International last year, won by Mexican Abraham Ancer, finishing 42nd. With three victories on the Alps Tour (Red Sea Little Venice Open 2020, Antognolla Alps Open 2021, Ein Bay Open 2022) and one in the PGAI Championship (2021) on his resume, Mazzoli also boasts amateur accolades, including being part of the European Boys' championship-winning team in 2014 and winning the Individual European Championship in 2015.