How much each player earned at the Players

Each of the top 35 players in the Players Championship ranking left with a six-figure check at least

by Andrea Gussoni
How much each player earned at the Players
© Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images Sport

Even though it has lost some of its luster with the absence of several renowned players who have gone to the competing circuit, the Players Championship remains the most generously endowed regular tournament of the season with $25 million distributed.

The Players, earnings

Each of the top 35 players in the Players Championship ranking left with a six-figure check at least. Those in the top 5 all cashed in for over a million. And Scottie Scheffler, who already won last week's 4th Signature Event ($4 million), once again broke the bank with an additional $4.5 million in his bank account this Monday.

Here is the complete breakdown of the $25 million (almost 23 million euros) at the end of the 4 rounds played in Ponte Vedra Beach (Florida). 1st: Scottie Scheffler, $4,500,000 (€4,133,002) 2nd: Brian Harman, Xander Schauffele, Wyndham Clark, $1,891,666.67 (€1,737,297) 5th: Matt Fitzpatrick, $1,025,000 6th: Si Woo Kim, Hideki Matsuyama, $875,000 8th: Ludvig Åberg, $781,250 9th: Sahith Theegala, Maverick McNealy, $706,250 11th: Joel Dahmen, Taylor Montgomery, $606,250 13th: Corey Conners, Christiaan Bezuidenhout, Nate Lashley, $489,583.33 16th: Sam Ryder, Sepp Straka, Doug Ghim, $406,250 19th: Harris English, Shane Lowry, Dylan Wu, Kurt Kitayama, Alex Noren, Adam Schenk, Rory McIlroy, $285,535.71 26th: Mackenzie Hughes, Chris Kirk, Nick Taylor, Matti Schmid, Matt NeSmith, $186,250 31st: Ben Martin, Mark Hubbard, Sungjae Im, Taylor Moore, $152,812.50 35th: Denny McCarthy, Jimmy Stanger, Lee Hodges, Tommy Fleetwood, Aaron Rai, Jason Day, Brice Garnett, $119,285.71 42nd: Grayson Murray, David Lipsky, C.T.

Pan, $93,750 45th: Adam Scott, Ryan Moore, Jake Knapp, Collin Morikawa, Tony Finau, Austin Eckroat, Sam Burns, J.T. Poston, $70,062.50 53rd: Andrew Putnam, $60,250 54th: Min Woo Lee, Francesco Molinari, Martin Laird, Zac Blair, Cameron Young, Sami Välimäki, Tom Hoge, Emiliano Grillo, $57,500 62nd: Thomas Detry, Viktor Hovland, $55,000 64th: Seamus Power, Max Homa, Tyler Duncan, J.J.

Spaun, $53,500 68th: Rickie Fowler, Patrick Cantlay, Chan Kim, Peter Malnati, $51,500 72nd: Gary Woodland, $50,250 73rd: Keith Mitchell, $49,750 The tournament was created by then PGA Tour commissioner Deane Beane; the first edition was held in 1974 in Marietta within the Atlanta Country Club circuit.

The following year the competition was moved to Texas, being played at the Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, while in 1976 it was played at the Inverrary Country Club in Lauderhill, Florida. In 1976, the PGA reached a multi-year agreement with Sawgrass Country Club to hold the tournament annually beginning in 1977; Since 1982, the tournament has been played across the street to the west, at the Stadium Course at TPC at Sawgrass.[2][3] Starting in 1987, the event was renamed as the Players Championship and no longer the Tournament Player Championship. The 2020 edition was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.[4]

Players Championship