Texas Children's Houston continues the PGA

The 2024 PGA Tour season continues, this time in Texas with the Texas Children’s Houston Open taking center stage in Houston.

by Andrea Gussoni
Texas Children's Houston continues the PGA
© Getty Images Sport - Angel Martinez / Stringer

The 2024 PGA Tour season continues, this time in Texas with the Texas Children’s Houston Open taking center stage in Houston. This tournament, which has changed sponsors several times in recent years, has a history dating back to the end of World War II.

Among its multiple winners are Curtis Strange and Vijay Singh, the only ones to triumph three times.

Pga Tour, schedule

This year, the favorites for the tournament include Justin Thomas, who is currently enjoying a good run of form, along with Sam Burns and Xander Schauffele.

The odds are slightly lower for Peter Malnati, despite his remarkable surprise victory last week, marking his return to the winner's circle after eight and a half years. However, if one name must be singled out above all, it's Scottie Scheffler.

With no need for introductions, Scheffler is focused on maintaining a significant lead over the world number 2, Rory McIlroy. All eyes are also on Scheffler as he prepares for the upcoming Masters, making this week essentially the last real opportunity to fine-tune his game.

Established as a separate entity in 1968, the PGA TOUR split from the PGA of America, which primarily represents golf professionals such as teachers and club managers. Initially, tournament players formed their own organization called the Association of Professional Golfers (APG).

Then, in 1968, the players abolished the APG and agreed to operate as the PGA "Tournament Players Division," a fully autonomous division of the PGA, overseen by a new 10-member Tournament Policy Board. The name officially changed to "PGA Tour" in 1975.

In 1981, the PGA TOUR faced a marketing dispute with the PGA of America and officially changed its name to the "TPA Tour," standing for "Tournament Players Association," at the end of August that year. However, the dispute was resolved within seven months, and the tour reverted to its original name, "PGA Tour," in March 1982.

Due to the various similar designations, it's important to clarify what the PGA Tour does and does not organize. The PGA Tour does not manage any of the four major championships or the Ryder Cup. The PGA of America, not the PGA Tour, organizes the PGA Championship, the Senior PGA Championship, and co-organizes the Ryder Cup with the PGA European Tour.

The PGA Tour is not involved in women's tours in the United States, which are controlled by the LPGA. Additionally, the PGA Tour is not the official governing body for golf in the United States; that role belongs to the USGA, which also organizes the U.S.

Open. Instead, the PGA Tour organizes all other weekly golf events, including The Players Championship, the FedEx Cup, and the biennial Presidents Cup.

Pga Tour