Where the Four Majors in golf are played

The Masters Tournament, one of golf's most prestigious events, is scheduled to take place in Augusta, Georgia, United States

by Andrea Gussoni
Where the Four Majors in golf are played
© Getty Images Sport - Kevin C. Cox / Staff

Golf is one of the most widely followed sports globally, capable of bringing together and mobilizing a large number of fans at each of the tournaments held almost weekly across various circuits. Throughout history, golf has produced legends and unforgettable moments on courses worldwide, ranging from epic narratives of seemingly impossible victories to comebacks that were barely conceivable.

Within the sport's history and mystique, the so-called 'majors' or golf's grand events hold significant importance, recognized even beyond the passionate golfing community by the general public. What is a 'major' in golf? The 'majors', known by their English term, are the four main tournaments on the global male golf circuit.

Golf, events

They are held between the months of April and July, attracting the most popular players of the moment. What is a 'major' in golf? What is a 'major' in golf? What are the four 'majors' of golf? Below are the four major tournaments in the world of golf, along with their dates and locations: Masters Tournament: Held at the Augusta National Golf Club, located in Georgia, United States.

It is the first of the four and takes place in April. The winner receives the iconic Green Jacket. PGA Championship: This Major is played at various locations across the United States and usually occurs in May. U.S. Open: This tournament is played at different courses in the United States and is held in the month of June.

The Open Championship (British Open): Organized by The Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews, it is held in the United Kingdom in July. The Masters Tournament, often simply referred to as the Masters or the U.S. Masters outside of North America, stands as one of the four major championships in men's professional golf.

Scheduled annually for the first full week of April, it heralds the beginning of the major golf tournament season. What sets the Masters apart from other majors is its unwavering venue: the esteemed Augusta National Golf Club, a private course nestled in Augusta, Georgia.

This illustrious tournament owes its inception to the vision of amateur golf champion Bobby Jones and investment banker Clifford Roberts. Following Jones's historic grand slam in 1930, he acquired a former plant nursery and collaborated with course architect Alister MacKenzie to craft the magnificent Augusta National.

The Masters debuted in 1934 and has since become an official money event on the PGA Tour, the European Tour, and the Japan Golf Tour. Notably, the field of players is more select than other major championships, as the Masters operates as an invitational event overseen by the Augusta National Golf Club.

Over the years, the Masters Tournament has fostered a wealth of traditions. Since 1949, the champion has been bestowed with the iconic green jacket, symbolizing their triumph at Augusta. The champion retains ownership of the jacket, although it must be returned to the clubhouse one year after their victory.

The esteemed Champions Dinner, initiated by Ben Hogan in 1952, is a revered tradition held on the Tuesday preceding the tournament, exclusively attended by past champions and select club members. Moreover, since 1963, esteemed golfers, often past champions, have teed off the first round with an honorary shot, marking the commencement of play.

The tournament boasts an illustrious roster of multiple winners, with golfing legends such as Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods, and Arnold Palmer etching their names in Masters history. The Augusta National course, inaugurated in 1933, has undergone numerous modifications over the years, with alterations to greens, bunkers, water hazards, tee boxes, and landscaping, maintaining its challenge and allure to golfers worldwide.