European Team Championships, here we go

The European Team Championships begin and will take place from 9 to 13 July in four different countries: Italy (Amateur), Austria (Boys), Spain (Ladies) and Sweden (Girls). 70 teams competing, for a total of 420 athletes, representing 25 nations.

by Andrea Gussoni
European Team Championships, here we go
© Getty Images Sport - Alex Slitz / Stringer

The European Team Championships begin and will take place from 9 to 13 July in four different countries: Italy (Amateur), Austria (Boys), Spain (Ladies) and Sweden (Girls). 70 teams competing, for a total of 420 athletes, representing 25 nations.

Golf, schedule

European Amateur Team Championship at Royal Park I Roveri – Italy hosts the European Amateur Championship for the fourth time, the second in a row at Royal Park I Roveri, in Fiano Torinese, after the first in 2008.

Previously it was played at the Circolo Golf Turin (1967) and at the Monticello Golf Club (1999), where the only Italian victory was recorded (two silvers, in 1975 in Scotland and in 1991 in Spain). In the club, where the Italian Open and other important events took place, the Italian Golf Federation will once again be called upon to express its great organizational qualities which have always distinguished it in many events in the past, as well as in Ryder Cup 2023 with global resonance.

In the 41st edition of the tournament, Italy fields Matteo Cristoni, Riccardo Fantinelli, Michele Ferrero, Marco Florioli, Luca Memeo and Filippo Ponzano. With the team Alberto Binaghi, Technical Commissioner of the Men's National Amateur Team, Alain Vergari, Deputy Technical Commissioner, and captain Eugenio Bernardi.

The representatives of 16 nations will be on the starting tee: Italy, Austria, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Holland, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Wales. It is one of the three championships in which Spain defends the title, fresh from two consecutive successes.

The Iberians, who have won a total of six times, will try to achieve the hat-trick, which England managed only once (1969, 1971, 1973) when the frequency was every two years (until 2007). The English largely dominate the roll of honour, with eleven successes and ten silver medals, including three consecutive from 2017 to 2019, but they have not won since 2013.

However, they will be among the favourites, together with the aforementioned Spain and Sweden, Denmark, Germany, Scotland, France and Italy, which has a good chance while also being able to count on the friendly field. European Boys Team Championship – On the Diamond Country Club course, in Atzenbrugg in Austria, Giovanni Binaghi, Mattia D'Errico, Bruno Frontero, Biagio Gagliardi, Carlo Roman and Federico Randazzo make up the blue team in the Boys Continental Championship.

They are accompanied by coaches Giorgio Grillo and Alessandro Bandini and by captain Simone Armando Colozza. In the 45th edition of the competition, Sweden defends the title, in a context that includes, in addition to the Italian one, second in 2021 and seventh in the following two years, fourteen other national selections: Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Holland, Norway, Spain, Switzerland and Wales.

The defending champions, who have achieved seven successes over time, will try for the eighth time to secure the double in a row, which has always eluded them, which could also take them to the top of the multi-winners' ranking with eight titles where at the moment the English are alone.

Doubles, however, are very difficult, the prerogative only of Spain (1996, 1997), Germany (2021, 2022) and England (twice, 1985-1986 and 1994-1995). The hat-trick was never achieved. The Azzurri have obtained gold on three occasions (1982, 2003 and 2014) and silver on four (1991, 1999, 2012 and in the aforementioned 2021).

European Ladies' Team Championship - The blue Ladies will be involved in the European Championship of the category, now in its 41st edition, which will take place on the course of the Real Sociedad Hípica Española Club de Campo, in Madrid, Spain.

Francesca Fiorellini, Carolina Melgrati, Alessia Nobilio, Francesca Carola Pompa, Elena Verticchio and Anna Zanusso will take to the field. With them Enrico Trentin (Advice Giver), Alex Senoner (coach) and Stefano Sardi (captain).

Spain will be chasing an encore, having the advantage of playing at home. Six successes, but the Iberians managed to achieve the hat-trick (from 2003 to 2007, when the tournament was biennial), and have the less pleasant record of having been runners up eight times.

Sweden is the only other team that has won three times in a row (from 2018 to 2020) for a total of ten victories which places them in second place behind England with 12. 19 teams competing. Along with Italy, Spain, Sweden and England there will be the Czech Republic, Germany, France, Switzerland, Ireland, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Austria, Slovakia, Scotland, Wales, Belgium, Slovenia and the Netherlands.

Italy has never won the competition, but has placed second on five occasions: in 1959 (first edition), 1961, 1985, 2017 and 2022. It was third in 2021.