Daniil Medvedev reached the final of the Australian Open 2022 after winning in 4 sets against Stefanos Tsitsipas, and is now waiting for Rafael Nadal on Sunday. Despite some problems, which almost completely stratifies in the central part of the second set, the Russian manages to find more quantity and quality from the baseline, but above all to conserve more energy.
But it was incredible what happened between Medvedev and the chair umpire. During the change of court on 5-4 of the second set, the n. 2 in the world attacked chair judge Jaume Campistol for not sanctioning Tsitsipas for coaching: "His father talks at every point!
His father talks at every point! Are you stupid? Tsitsipas talks to his father at every point, but he never Got a coaching warning. You're really bad. How is this possible in a Grand Slam semi-final? Look at me when I talk to you!
If it happens again and you don't, you're a, as they say, a kitten!"
Medvedev perde la testa! 🤯🎾
Infastidito dall'atteggiamento del padre di Tsitsipas, inveisce contro il giudice di sedia 😱😱😱#EurosportTENNIS | #AO2022 | #AusOpen | #Medvedev | #Tsitsipas pic.twitter.com/IFe2hRiMEW — Eurosport IT (@Eurosport_IT) January 28, 2022
The 7-6 (5) 4-6 6-4 6-1 that matures at the stroke of two and a half hours of play tells all the hows and whys.
Medvedev thus engages Marat Safin in the Final-Slam classification for Russia (four) and obviously also aims for the second success in the category after the one at Flushing Meadows 2021. Medvedev actually risks losing a set in which he wins 22 of the 23 service points available.
A set in which he doesn't even take advantage of three-fifteen, obviously in response, in game-number-eight. Tsitsipas puts his head forward thanks to an extreme defense, but squanders a 4-1 lead and loses 6 of the next 7 points.
The Russian, who paradoxically feels the blow the most, begins to pile up a series of incomprehensible errors. Tsitsipas, who keeps the break ahead until the sixth game, takes advantage of the courtesy of the block number two, who plays a terrible game at 4-4.
Medvedev, who clears two break points at the start, faces 5-4 with a splendid winning short ball and catches the Greek unprepared near the net in the immediately following fifteen. Tsitsipas pays a rather trivial mistake with the forehand out of the service at 0-30 and only partially remedies the disadvantage: the second useful set point turns out to be the good one for Medvedev, in total control of the matter during the fourth.
The Greek talent, short of physical and mental energy, practically has time to move the zero from the game box. For Medvedev, archiving the practice at the stroke of two and a half hours of play is practically a formality.