Nick Kyrgios reveals what landed him costly point penalty in Miami loss



by   |  VIEW 3464

Nick Kyrgios reveals what landed him costly point penalty in Miami loss

Australian tennis star Nick kyrgios took to Twitter after a Miami exit to reveal what landed him an unsportsmanlike conduct during the Jannik Sinner match. At 5-3 in the first set tie-break, Kyrgios was hit by a point penalty as Sinner took a 6-3 lead.

Kyrgios, who was visibly frustrated by receiving a point penalty, hit a double fault on the next point as Sinner won the first set. Sinner ended up beating Kyrgios 7-6 (3) 6-3. Kyrgios tweeted after the match: "‘You could do the job of the umpire’ - what was said to my best friend that got me ‘unsportsmanlike code violation’ at 5-3 in the first set tie break.

With 100 of thousands of dollars on the line that was the decision he made because the umpires ‘feelings got hurt. GET NEW PEOPLE."

Kyrgios was then hit by a game penalty

After losing the first set, Kyrgios lost his cool and unloaded on chair umpire Carlos Bernardes.

Bernardes hit Kyrgios with a game penalty as Sinner started the second set with a break without doing anything. Sinner broke Kyrgios in the ninth game to seal a straight-set win. After the match, Kyrgios noted that he is not taking away anything from Sinner.

"Don’t get it twisted. I got mad respect for @janniksir he is one of my favourite players and he was TOO GOOD. I am aiming all of this at an umpire who clearly ISNT GOOD ENOUGH to be doing these matches. Nothing but a slap on the wrist for him right? What a joke," Kyrgios said in another tweet.

Kyrgios, who was awarded wildcards into Indian Wells and Miami, played well during the Sunshine Double. In Indian Wells, Kyrgios made the quarterfinal before losing to Rafael Nadal in a tight three-setter. Kyrgios also enjoyed a solid run in Miami as he made the round-of-16 before falling short to SInner.