Jo-Wilfried Tsonga congratulates Hubert Hurkacz on Marseille title: Part of history

Tsonga presented Hurkacz the 2023 Marseille trophy.

by Dzevad Mesic
Jo-Wilfried Tsonga congratulates Hubert Hurkacz on Marseille title: Part of history

French tennis legend Jo-Wilfried Tsonga congratulated Hubert Hurkacz on winning this year's Marseille title. On Sunday, 26-year-old Hurkacz defeated France's Benjamin Bonzi 6-3 7-6 (4) in the Marseille final. Hurkacz, who was playing in Marseille for the third time in his career, was presented the title by former three-time Marseille champion Tsonga.

"Congrats @HubertHurkacz for being now part of the long history of the @Open13!" Tsonga wrote on Twitter following Hurkacz's Marseille win.

Hurkacz also shared a message as he congratulated Bonzi on a strong run and also said it was a pleasure to see Tsonga. "Thanks to my team and my family back home for the support this week and always.

Thank you @tsonga7 for being here today, it was a pleasure. Well done on a great week, @BenjaminBonzi," Hurkacz tweeted.

Hurkacz wins Marseille, gets presented the trophy by Tsonga

After beating Bonzi for his sixth ATP title, Hurkacz showed his class and encouraged Bonzi to keep his head up as he believes the Frenchman will soon lift his first ATP title.

“I’m super happy today. Congrats to Benjamin, he played really well. I think he deserved to win the second set, I just tried to compete as hard as I can. He’s been playing really well this year and for sure he’s going to get a title very soon," Hurkacz said after the final, per the ATP website.

After picking up round-of-16 exits at the Australian Open and Rotterdam, Hurkacz made it all the way in Marseille for his first title of the season. “I think my game is getting better. I’m super happy with the way I competed today.

I was able to come up with some good shots and good serves in the important moments, so I’m really happy with that," Hurkacz said. Hurkacz is now set to compete at an ATP 500 event in Dubai, where he meets Andy Murray in the first round.

Jo-Wilfried Tsonga Hubert Hurkacz