Daniil Medvedev's coach calls Carlos Alcaraz 'the Mike Tyson of tennis'

Coach Gilles Cervara was heavily impressed by the tennis Alcaraz delivered against Medvedev in Indian Wells.

by Dzevad Mesic
Daniil Medvedev's coach calls Carlos Alcaraz 'the Mike Tyson of tennis'

Daniil Medvedev's coach Gilles Cervara has called Carlos Alcaraz "the Mike Tyon of tennis." On Sunday, Alcaraz saw off Medvedev 6-3 6-2 in the Indian Wells final. Reflecting on the Indian Wells final, Cervara admitted he was in awe of the strength and speed of Alcaraz's shots.

"Alcaraz is the Tyson of tennis. He is able to hit those forehands at certain times with his racket. There were shots with which he put Daniil ten metres from the ball after hitting with insane power and speed. We knew that quality about him, but he's amazing.

He leaves the rival helpless from him. Contrary to my impression, I didn't feel like he could fail. We'll have to look for his mistakes," Cervara told L'Equipe, as revealed on Mirror.

Medvedev's coach Cervara: Alcaraz is a challenge

In 2021, Medvedev defeated Alcaraz at Wimbledon.

But since then, Alcaraz has become a much better player and it was a completely different story when the Spaniard and Medvedev met in Indian Wells. Now, Cervara admits just figuring out how to play Alcaraz is a challenge.

"Playing against Alcaraz will force your opponents to ask themselves: ‘What do I have to improve? How should I play him?' It has become quite a challenge for his rivals. And if you don't stop telling yourself that you're not playing correctly, you'll get a bag of points.

To those who have weapons to stand up to him, he will require them to take their game to another dimension," Cervara explained. In Indian Wells, Medvedev reached his fourth consecutive final. After winning three consecutive titles in Rotterdam, Doha and Dubai, Medvedev was hoping to also go all the way in Indian Wells.

But Alcaraz had other plans as Medvedev barely stood a chance against the Spaniard in the Indian Wells final. Medvedev was also on a run of 19 consecutive wins before losing to Alcaraz.

Daniil Medvedev Carlos Alcaraz Gilles Cervara