Photo: Umpire 'robs' Alexander Zverev of break in key moments of RG final

If not for a wrong call, Zverev and Carlos Alcaraz would have been tied to two games apiece in the fifth set of the French Open final.

by Dzevad Mesic
Photo: Umpire 'robs' Alexander Zverev of break in key moments of RG final
© Getty Images Sport - Dan Istitene

Alexander Zverev was a victim of a wrong call in the fifth set of the French Open final after chair umpire Renaud Lichtenstein overturned Carlos Alcaraz's out and basically "robbed" the German of getting a break back in the key moments.

With Alcaraz leading 2-1 in the fifth set and serving, Zverev earned three consecutive break points in the fourth game. After Alcaraz missed his first serve on a break point, his second serve was also called out by a line umpire. 

But the game wasn't over after Lichtenstein overturned the call. Zverev wasn't happy and he was certain that the serve out - but Lichtenstein stood by his call. Then, a TV visual showed that Alcaraz's second serve was indeed out. 

Alcaraz then went on to win the game and open a 3-1 lead before breaking Zverev again in the seventh game to complete a 6-3 2-6 5-7 6-1 6-2.

Zverev was happy with his effort

Zverev, who also suffered a five-set defeat to Dominic Thiem in his first Grand Slam final at the 2020 US Open, said this time it was different. 

"I felt like this Grand Slam final I did everything I could. At the US Open I kind of gave it away myself. It's a bit different," Zverev said after the final.

Meanwhile, Alcaraz - who now has three Grand Slam titles - encouraged Zverev to keep going.

"I know that you give your heart every day that you step on the court. I know everything you've been through (during) the last year, with the injury here on this court," Alcaraz told Zverev.

"The work that you put in until today, being here in the final of this tournament has been an unbelievable journey since that (the injury). I am sure, that tennis gives you the opportunity to win Slams and to win this tournament very soon. So, keep going."

Alexander Zverev Carlos Alcaraz French Open