ATP New York - Entry List: Kevin Anderson and John Isner lead the field

by   |  VIEW 2364
ATP New York - Entry List: Kevin Anderson and John Isner lead the field

Back in 2018, the famous ATP tournament in Memphis had to be closed due to financial struggle and it has found the new home at the Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum on Long Island, New York. The first winner of the New York Open was Kevin Anderson, beating Sam Querrey on the unique black hard court and making his return in this year's edition as well.

The organizers have revealed the entry list for the ATP 250 event that will take place between February 11-17, with Kevin Anderson and John Isner leading an interesting field of players that will fight for the title and 250 ATP points.

Interestingly, two top-10 stars who had played that epic Wimbledon semi-final in July are the only players from the top-30, with the other players from the elite group choosing to compete in Rotterdam or Buenos Aires. One of the best youngsters in the world Alex de Minaur will be the 3rd seed, entering the doubles draw with his mentor Lleyton Hewitt as well.

Steve Johnson, John Millman and Adrian Mannarino complete the top-50 line-up, ahead of the last year's finalist Sam Querrey who will be one of the biggest threats for the favorites if he shows his best tennis. The crowd will have the opportunity to see Ryan Harrison, Tennys Sandgren, Bradley Klahn, Mackenzie McDonald, Reilly Opelka and Michael Mmoh, together with Jack Sock and Noah Rubin who received a wild card for the main draw at his local ATP tournament.

This amount of the American players guarantees some interesting first round clashes and we will also see the giant server Ivo Karlovic and another veteran Feliciano Lopez fighting for the title, playing perhaps their last seasons on the Tour.

Bernard Tomic, Denis Istomin and Radu Albot complete the field and it promises to be an entertaining week in one of the biggest and more vibrant cities in the world. The official entry list:

#6 Kevin Anderson (RSA)
#10 John Isner (USA)
#31 Alex de Minaur (AUS)
#33 Steve Johnson (USA)
#38 John Millman (AUS)
#42 Adrian Mannarino (FRA)
#51 Sam Querrey (USA)
#61 Tennys Sandgren (USA)
#62 Ryan Harrison (USA)
#64 Feliciano Lopez (ESP)
#72 Jordan Thompson (AUS)
#76 Bradley Klahn (USA)
#78 Mackenzie McDonald (USA)
#83 Bernard Tomic (AUS)
#92 Denis Istomin (UZB)
#98 Radu Albot (MDA)
#99 Reilly Opelka (USA)
#100 Ivo Karlovic (CRO)
#103 Michael Mmoh (USA)